Spinach Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I hate this recipe. Ever since I made these a couple of years ago I now have to make them for every family occasion. I had to start making way more than a dozen because I feel that the family might get violent if there are not enough of these to satisfy everyone. By far the best deviled egg recipe you will ever make. Make it just as it says and you will be the hit of the party. Thank you for this recipe!!!(Note: Although I usually make them as stated, I have added 4 finely chopped green olives to the mix when my wifes Grandmother dines with us. She always put them in her deviled eggs which were my favorite until this came along. Try it, you might like it! Someday I will post her original Italian recipe which is awesome.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Absolutely delicious! I served for our 4th of July party and everyone loved them. I'm a novice at making deviled eggs and many of you probably know this, but I'll share: Be careful with making these ahead of time! I made these a day before, covered them and put them in the fridge. The day of the party I discovered that the filling dried out! Luckily I saved them by removing all of the filling and re-mixing with a bit of extra mayo. Next time I want to prepare these ahead of time, I'll just remove the yolks and store in an airtight container and then mix it up an hour or so before serving. I added about 3 strips of extra bacon to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
These are great! I added a little bit of feta cheese to "up" the flavor a bit though they didn't really need it. I used rice vinegar, but for the reviewer who didn't know what kind was called for in the recipe, if a particular type isn't indicated it usually means your standard white vinegar. The spinach really helps to stretch the egg yolk mixture, giving you a lot to spoon into the whites. Buy the frozen spinach in the bags and not the boxes. It makes it really easy to take out just what you need. I just zapped mine in the microwave for a few seconds and then squeezed dry in a paper towel. Quick and easy. I also suggest you taste before adding the salt as the bacon and feta made mine just a bit too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I left out the butter, halved the sugar and added a couple of tablespoons of freshly minced onion along with about a teaspoon of dijon mustard. I finished them off with a dash of cayenne atop each egg. Wow! They were very good, but should be eaten soon after preparing because the bacon loses its crunch after a few hours. If you're making ahead, simply add the bacon just before filling the whites. I'd definitely make these again sometime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
Yum...! I have always loved deviled eggs, but this was my first attempt at making them. The recipe is simple and fairly quick. Though I made twice the original serving (lots of egg shell peeling), it was worth it! My tasters really enjoyed the eggs and one referred to them as gourmet. The bacon really gives them a lot of flavor and the spinach makes the mix so colorful. Instead of crumbling strips of bacon, I dumped a jar of Real bacon pieces (not Bacos which is soy). This was much quicker, and i believe tastes as good. I did have an interesting time wringing out the spinach though. Overall, this recipe is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
AWESOME RECIPE. I have never made deviled eggs before. my company was having a potluck as part of the halloween celebration and my dept was asked to bring side dishes. So I decided to try this recipe out. IT WAS A HIT! I made some changes to the recipe though. I left out the vinger and the sugar (as suggested by others). I also cut back on the butter. I added one tablespoon of mustard. I mixed the bacon bits in with the rest of the ingredients and sprinkled paprika onto to add more color. This is a keeper. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I made two kinds, and these came in second place, I normally love spinach stuffed things, but these came out not as good as the bacon cheddar eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
These were fantastic, a nice alternative to traditional eggs. I think the folks who are reviewing them poorly are probably just not giving the different flavor a chance. I brought these to a work function and they were a true test of which co-workers are willing to try something different and which aren't. Those who tried them RAVED about the unique flavor and then there were some, I noticed, who didn't try them. I, personally, loved them and will make them again!! Sure, I'll make the traditional eggs too because I love them so much, but these really give a "wow" factor that you're just not going to get from your average egg!!! YUMMY--thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I love this recipe! I have made it several times for work parties and family functions. Everyone asks how I did it. They assume I slaved in the kitchen for hours, hardly! I have learned to spice it up with just a dab of Djon mustard, it look great and adds more flavor. Without it I find it a little sweet and I like a more robust deviled egg. Either way is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This was a different changed op pace from the usual deviled eggs recipe. I found that by using Kraft's Miracle Whip salad dressing I could omit the vinegar and sugar called for. I used all the other ingredients called for and everyone at dinner liked them. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States