Spinach Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My brunch guests were unhappy when they were all eaten so quickly! Great idea for deviled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Tripled the recipe and made as is for a potluck at work and the little piggies at them all in about 20 minutes. Would suggest after sqeezing the spinach dry chopping it up until very fine. I made it the night before and stored the yolk mixture in a tight container and about 2 hrs before serving added the bacon and stuffed the whites. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These were yummy and fun to make! I like the twist on a normal deviled egg. I used fresh spinach and added onions and they were a crowd pleaser! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cliff
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Having a potluck at work and wanted to make sure they were good before taking this recipe. The family all gave thumbs up...way up! So I guess I will make more to take to work. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
My family really liked these. My only problem was with the spinach- it was too stringy. Next time I will chop it in a food processor before adding it to the other ingredients. I also used bacon bits from a jar and it was so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I made these for a barbecue, and they were gone within minutes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Here's how I made this recipe, to rave reviews: - I used about 5 oz fresh baby spinach, wilted (heat a little olive oil in a pan, stir in the spinach, and let sit for 2 minutes). - Skipped the butter, vinegar, and sugar. - Sprinkled a little paprika over the top (old habits die hard...I've done this for years with the deviled eggs I usually make). - Topped with either a slice of kalamata olive (not too big - they're strong) or some crumbled feta cheese. I used slightly more mayo and made the eggs the day I was serving them so the bacon wouldn't get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I first made these two years ago for my family Easter dinner. I'm not allowed to come anymore without them. Even the kids who don't like spinach just love these. They are always gone before we sit down to the table. Since I'm making four dozen this year, I hard boil the eggs, slice and separate them a few days in advance and will complete the recipe late Easter morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I have been making these deviled eggs for years and every time someone eats them, they want the recipe. This is the one recipe you don't need to change a thing! It's really that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
OK, I'll admit I'm chicken when it comes to making something new in large quantities without tasting it first. That being said, after reading the varieties of opinions on this, I decided to convert the recipe to 2 servings using the web page calculator to test it. I followed the recipe exactly. The conversion to 2 servings called for 1/8 teaspoon of salt, but to be in proportion with the rest of the measurements, I reduced it to 1/16 teaspoon. The sugar sounded odd to me, so I left it out of the mixture at first. (More about that later.) My husband and I tried an egg half and were impressed with the smooth flavor. The mayo was fat free, so the butter must have carried the flavor. There was a subtle bite from the vinegar (I used white vinegar) and a wonderful crunch and flavor of the bacon. The spinach makes it healthier and adds great color. Different than traditional deviled eggs, but definitely a keeper. I will keep in mind other reviewers' recommendations to not let these sit for more than a couple of hours once the bacon is added in order to keep it crunchy. (No problem!) Now for the second half of the egg. I added the 1/8 of a teaspoon of sugar to the remaining mixture. I know taste is subjective, so for what it's worth, my husband noticed that the sugar seemed to reduce the intensity of the bacon. I tried it and had to agree. We opted to leave the sugar out. Other than that, WOW, what a great new way to do deviled eggs! If you're not sure, try making 2 servings first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States