Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Excellent. Quick, easy and flavorful. (I skipped the tofu.) My boyfriend from India made the following modifications for more authenticity: After heating oil in pan, add 1/2 t. cumin seeds. Heat for 30 seconds, stirring. Then add 6 curry leaves and 2 t. ginger-garlic paste. Stir for 30 seconds. Then add onion, 1 t. garam masala, 1 t. chili powder and 1 T. curry powder. (no curry paste required) I followed the recipe similary except that I added about 1/2 cup water after putting in the chick peas to create a thinner consistancy. We both loved it served with basmati rice. Next time I may add some chopped tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I noticed there were no reviews from someone saying they are Indian. So here I am. I tried this out because I was curious about the creamed corn base - all of my curries use tomatoes. I used the ingredients requested with 3 exceptions. 1 - garlic salt 2 - a can of diced tomatoes because the corn started sticking 3 - homemade paneer instead of tofu - but only because I had none, I've used tofu in curry before & as other reviewers have said, you need to brown it first with a little bit of oil, then take it out of the pan while you move onto the onions. I always put the cheese/tofu in last so they stay whole. In regards to curry paste. I noticed quite a few who were unable to use it reviewed a few years back. In the past 2 or 3 years, most major grocers carry curry paste - it's different from curry sauce. Also, other reviewers have mentioned this, the brand makes a HUGE difference. I only use Patak's. I'm always trying different brands because I like to think of myself as a lover of shortcuts - curry paste is one of them. I've used Patak's faithfully ever since I left my parents and missed authentic South Indian cooking (spicy flavorful & spicy hot). I used a medium hot paste because I'm not sure how much my 18 month can do - it must have been just right because she inhaled it as did my 5 year old. As far as measurements go - I don't use them. The beauty of curry is it's YOUR special blend. I'm writing home about this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I have never made an indian dish that tasted so authentic! Just as good as anything I would get at the restaurant. While sauteeing the onions I added 1/2 tsp of garam masala and 1/2 tsp of ground cumin which I think boosted the flavor dramatically. I followed the recipe exactly and added some boiled potato and cauliflower. I served it with basmati rice and it came out wonderful! Very mild also, as I have a very hard time eating spicy indian cuisine, but definitly not lacking in flavor! I'm very grateful for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
This was an excellent dish. I baked my tofu at 425 for 20 mins (cubed) prior to adding it to the pan, I like tofu a little more "cooked" than it usually gets in dishes like these. The tofu would also be excellent fried if fat content is not an issue. I served it with some somosas and another spicier dish (both recipes I found on this site)and my guests couldn't have loved it more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONKEYCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This recipe was just delicious!! My only change was to the curry paste, as I didnt have any so I used 2tbspns. of Tomato Paste, and 2tbspns. of curry powder... mixed it well and then added per the instructions. I will make this one again and again! Thank so much to the poster!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillianMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is one of my family's favorites and I have made it dozens of times. I don't like curry powder but curry paste is much different! I always get the mild kind which is excellent. Others who found this bland must not have used the paste. I have made this for lots of folks and they all loved it. I always use sweet potato(partially cooked already so it doesn't take long), carrots, lima beans and broccoli and sometimes leave out the tofu and spinach if I don't have them. Also try it with tempeh. It is fast, easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jL
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe as is except that I added a diced tomato. Make sure you buy extra firm tofu (the kind for stir frying), otherwise it will fall apart when you are cooking the curry. This curry is delicious! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This recipe is easy to make and tastes great! The creamed corn gives it a nice sweetness and consistancy. All of the ingredients are easy to come by with the exception of the curry paste. I advise going to an asian or indian market - they have a much better selection than the average grocery store. I also advise anyone else that reviews this recipe to learn the difference between curry powder and curry pastes ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This is a really great quick, healthy and filling recipe. I did not add rice, but ate it on its own. I also followed advice from another reviewer and baked the cubed tofu at 425 for 25 - 30 min (putting alittle nonfat cooking sray on dish and tofu). I have now found the best way to make tofu! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
Very good and easy. The only time consuming part was washing the fresh spinach, so next time I'll use frozen spinach. I added a cooked sweet potato, and it was great! Using the curry paste was so easy I may never go back to powder. The flavor of the paste also seemed fresher and more authentic. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States