Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Quite good with some pita bread! my family might have been strangely ravenous that night, but for some reason 4 servings didn't really fill up 3 people. Still, the taste is great with lots of garam marsala and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zox67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was really good, more a 4 1/2 stars...I didn't have cream spinach, so I used a little vanilla soy milk...what can I say had to make a quick call....thought sweet, liquid should work...and it did. Also added some cauliflower in with the corn.... 15month LOVED the tofu (which I fried in lowfat cooking spray).... served with basmati - everyone asked for more.... Great Vegeterian dinner for non-vegeterian family. ALSO use real spinach....fill up your sink with cold water wash it that way, salad spin it and just chop keep the stems..... fresh spinach is so much better then frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sibel Mandalinci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This is very good and healthy! I served it on brown basmati rice. I also added more curry. It is hard to believe that one serving is 8 points on WEIGHT WATCHERS!!! OUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Mohojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Township, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Great base recipe. I'll definitely try again with a few additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellford, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Clemson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Four out of five cause I thought the recipe needed some extra flavoring. My style of cooking tends to be Italian so I added about 1/8-1/4 cup dry white wine and some parmasan cheese. I also cubed the tofu, placed it on a baking tray, spaying with olive oil cooking spray and srinkled creole seasoning on top; then broiled the tofu in the oven until browned and added to the sauce last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I couldn't quite seem to bring much flavor to this recipe, even after doubling the spinach, doubling the curry paste, and adding red pepper flakes. Otherwise, it's not bad, and certainly easy to make. As much as I love chickpeas, I would have cut down on the amount of chickpeas in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Very good! I couldnt find curry paste so I used curry sauce instead. I thought that an entire can of garbonzo beans was too much. Next time I will only add half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I loved this recipe! I hardly cook, and I've never attempted Indian food. This was so easy and took no time at all. I made it almost exactly as written except I cut the oil down a bit. I will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I didn't have creamed corn, so I used regular; didn't have curry paste so I combined 3 cloves of garlic + 1 in. sliced ginger + 2 TB chili powder + 2 TB paprika + 1 tsp white pepper + 2 TB water + 1 tsp black pepper + dash of salt; I mashed those up for my curry paste. I also added chunks of leftover beef that I had. Everything was incredible! Adding a generous amount of garlic powder really enhanced the flavor for me. My roommate (hates curry) loved this, as did my boyfriend who isn't a fan of tofu or chick peas. AWESOME recipe! So healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
It came out too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States