Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I noticed there were no reviews from someone saying they are Indian. So here I am. I tried this out because I was curious about the creamed corn base - all of my curries use tomatoes. I used the ingredients requested with 3 exceptions. 1 - garlic salt 2 - a can of diced tomatoes because the corn started sticking 3 - homemade paneer instead of tofu - but only because I had none, I've used tofu in curry before & as other reviewers have said, you need to brown it first with a little bit of oil, then take it out of the pan while you move onto the onions. I always put the cheese/tofu in last so they stay whole. In regards to curry paste. I noticed quite a few who were unable to use it reviewed a few years back. In the past 2 or 3 years, most major grocers carry curry paste - it's different from curry sauce. Also, other reviewers have mentioned this, the brand makes a HUGE difference. I only use Patak's. I'm always trying different brands because I like to think of myself as a lover of shortcuts - curry paste is one of them. I've used Patak's faithfully ever since I left my parents and missed authentic South Indian cooking (spicy flavorful & spicy hot). I used a medium hot paste because I'm not sure how much my 18 month can do - it must have been just right because she inhaled it as did my 5 year old. As far as measurements go - I don't use them. The beauty of curry is it's YOUR special blend. I'm writing home about this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is a winner! Made just as stated and it's a quick weeknight dinner. A bit sweet from the creamed corn, I used regular Green Giant; if there are not-as-sweet brands, try that, or perhaps add lemon juice or apple cider vinegar? Good on rice or pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Personally, I didn't like this with chickpeas & tofu together, so this time I left out the tofu. Added 2 coarsely-chopped parboiled potatoes, and a small tin of diced tomatoes insead. And made it in the slow cooker. Served it with natural yoghurt & garlic poppadoms. Yum! Excellent comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Mmmm...loving anything spinach and chickpea-ish these days...I didn't have creamed corn so i used peaches and cream corn...fresh garlic and ginger. Made my own curry paste like fellow reviewer sugg. Put it over asian coconut rice and topped with cilantro. Sooo ;yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was my first venture with tofu. I followed some of the suggestions others had posted (made my own curry paste, pan-fried the tofu first)and added an extra 1/2 T. of curry paste. Wow! Was this ever good! It's pretty hot and spicy (esp. with the additional curry paste) but packed with flavor! I served it with whole wheat couscous. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch! Thanks for a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svenska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JINGEE
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yum! I pan fried the tofu till the edges become crispy before using them in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE. ADDED EXTRA TABLESPOON OF CURRY PASTE - NOTHING EVER HOT ENOUGH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Great warm dish for cold weather! I have made it just like the recipe says and added mushrooms, califlour, and other ingredients and it always turns out great. I typically add additional curry to my taste because I think it can be bland without it. I love it over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
While this didn't taste very authentic to me, it was still great. I make it pretty regularly now. Although I think I'm going to start making it with paneer instead of tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is so fast, and so good. The creamed corn is some sort of secret weapon. I think the outcome probably depends a lot on the curry paste you use. We have a really hard time finding prepared paste around here, so I usually just make my own...2 tablespoons indian spices (a mix of whatever you have/like: tumeric, mustard seed, corriander, cumin, cayenne, etc), a clove of garlic, a half inch piece of ginger, a tablespoon of either vinegar or oil (depending on how much fat you're interested in). Whiz together in the blender or in a spice grinder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hearhoofbeats

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States