Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
What attracted me to this recipe was how quick and easy it was. It took minimal amounts of effort. I was a little weary of how it was going to taste because it's quite different from most meals I cook...but I was pleasantly surprised. Even my bf who was more sceptical than I (because of the tofu) admitted he liked it and would even have it again. I really liked what the spinach added to the dish and I will make this again. I give this recipe a 4 out of 5 because it's tasty, easy, fast with minimal clean up...but not a 5 because it wasn't a "wow! omg! This taste fan-friggin'-tastic!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by met_atm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Maybe I don't know enough about Indian food but this was not what I had hoped it to be. This was not spicy at all, even though I added extra curry paste and red pepper flakes to the recipe. Not very flavorful either. It was just a kind of soggy, mushy mess. Maybe it would be better served over rice or something else but by itself this dish is not very impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piccolo13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is delicious! I gave this recipe four instead of five stars because I think as it stands, it's a four star recipe. Make a couple of substitutions though, and you've got a winner! To start with, we made our own chili paste using 3 cloves of garlic (minced), 1 tsp fresh ginger root (grated), 2 tsp olive oil, 1 tsp garam masala, 1/2 tsp chili powder, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp curry powder, and 1 chopped hot pepper (use as much or little as you like depending on how spicy you like it.) If you make your own chili paste, make sure you omit the garlic powder, b/c this is garlicky enough! Make sure you press the tofu thoroughly, and if you don't want yucky mush tofu, brown it first. This isn't strictly necessary, but for best results and a "meaty" texture, cut the tofu into triangles and pop into the freezer until the edges are just frozen. Then pop them directly into a heated skillet with some oil without bothering to defrost them. That's my favorite way to prepare them. :) We also used fresh basil instead of dried. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dressagegrrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I took the suggestions of other reviewers and cooked the tofu in a 425 degree oven for 30 mins. I also added a can of drained diced tomatoes and fresh garlic. I threw in a few more spices including tumric and cummin. This was so quick and easy and tasted great. You really couldn't even taste the creamed corn. However, I would suggest reading your cans carefully, because lots of creamed corn has too much added sugar. I went with the can with the lowest sugar content (as there is already enough natural sugar from the corn).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I'm a vegetarian and my husband is not, but this was so good he ate it up! I will be making this again and again. I did find the mixture slightly thick so I thinned it out with a little vegetable broth served over rice and topped with some chopped peanuts! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liseli Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Fantastic! I did not use tofu or curry paste but did follow suggestions made by another reviewer. Heat oil, add 1/2 t cumin, the onions, 1 t garam malsa, 1 t chili powder and 1 T curry. Proceed with everything else as written. I added cooked sweet potatoes and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Really good dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattyward555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very good recipe! Minced some garlic and sauteed with the onions. Had no creamed corn on hand so used kernel corn and added milk. Also used herbed tofu and all the flavours were great! Will definitely make again. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I love this recipe! I've made it several times and have made a few changes, well, additions really. I add some cooked potatoes and fresh peas. I leave out the tofu. I also add a little water and let it cook down longer before I add the spinach. It just seals the flavors more for me. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Excellent! I agree with other commenters' suggestions to use extra firm tofu and bake it (cubed) at 425 first, although I only did it for 15 minutes rather than 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States