Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
Mmmmmmmmm! Very good. The creamed corn in this is a MUST, it really works with the spicy curry paste and gives depth to the flavor. We really like this and it is so versatile, a good basic recipe to work off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This is a really great quick, healthy and filling recipe. I did not add rice, but ate it on its own. I also followed advice from another reviewer and baked the cubed tofu at 425 for 25 - 30 min (putting alittle nonfat cooking sray on dish and tofu). I have now found the best way to make tofu! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
Delicious. I added cooked and cubed red potatoes, which complements the curry taste quite nicely. My significant other enjoyed this dish despite his (unfounded) dislike for tofu. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. We made it with a mild curry. First you notice the sweetness of the corn followed by a gentle warming of the pallet from the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
Very good recipe, I really liked the way the heat of the curry was offset by the sweetness of the cream corn. This time, I added red potatoes, carrots, and yellow squash. I thought it would be nicer if the curry was offset more with sweeter vegetables, so next time, I would like to try sweet potatoes and maybe more carrots. Also, next time I'd like to try fresh garlic instead of the powder. I served this over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is one of my family's favorites and I have made it dozens of times. I don't like curry powder but curry paste is much different! I always get the mild kind which is excellent. Others who found this bland must not have used the paste. I have made this for lots of folks and they all loved it. I always use sweet potato(partially cooked already so it doesn't take long), carrots, lima beans and broccoli and sometimes leave out the tofu and spinach if I don't have them. Also try it with tempeh. It is fast, easy and great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
This recipe is a great way to serve tofu and everyone I served it to liked it. If you use a good curry paste (not some supermarket curry powder), this will *not* be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Wow - talk about bland. I followed another reviewer's advice with the coconut milk + curry powder, and no - this is not a keeper. The spinach adds nothing, and the tofu (although bought "firm") tastes soggy and has no flavor otherwise. Very disappointing. Suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
Very good and easy. The only time consuming part was washing the fresh spinach, so next time I'll use frozen spinach. I added a cooked sweet potato, and it was great! Using the curry paste was so easy I may never go back to powder. The flavor of the paste also seemed fresher and more authentic. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This recipe is easy to make and tastes great! The creamed corn gives it a nice sweetness and consistancy. All of the ingredients are easy to come by with the exception of the curry paste. I advise going to an asian or indian market - they have a much better selection than the average grocery store. I also advise anyone else that reviews this recipe to learn the difference between curry powder and curry pastes ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States