Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I have never made an indian dish that tasted so authentic! Just as good as anything I would get at the restaurant. While sauteeing the onions I added 1/2 tsp of garam masala and 1/2 tsp of ground cumin which I think boosted the flavor dramatically. I followed the recipe exactly and added some boiled potato and cauliflower. I served it with basmati rice and it came out wonderful! Very mild also, as I have a very hard time eating spicy indian cuisine, but definitly not lacking in flavor! I'm very grateful for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I made this the other night and added a little yogurt and some more curry paste to taste. This disk was excellent. I also some calliflower instead of tofu, but you can add almost anything to this dish. My wife said this was one of the best things I have ever cooked. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Greenwich, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I love this recipe! I have made it several times, sometimes substituting cooked chicken for the tofu, broccoli for the chick peas, or omitting the spinach. I also add about 1 cup plain yogurt at the end. This recipe has the sweet/spicy combination that I love, and the creamed corn is great, surprisingly. My fiancee LOVED this and somehow thinks I'm a genius in the kitchen. (Yesss!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Olds, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I just had to try this recipe bec I was intrigued by the use of creamed corn in a 'curry' dish :). The outcome was pretty good - I wasn't blown away as I thought it was slightly underspiced and a bit too sweet, but overall I liked it well enough. It would help to know exactly what chili paste to use as I think that determines a lot of the flavor - I used an Indian Ginger-Garlic paste that I already had in my fridge. Next time I will probably take the suggestions listed in JMCCREAR's review, and add more Indian spices to it to see if I can make it a bit more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Good recipe - I didn't have the curry paste. I used 1 tsp. paprika, 1 tsp. ground cinnamon, 7 whole cloves, 2tsp. turmeric, and 2 green cardamoms (opened). I only had corn niblets so I added sour cream and cornstarch to the curry. I used chopped frozen spinach. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
The recipe was fantastic. Halfway through cooking I discovered my tofu and spinach had both been in the fridge way too long and were no longer edible. I substituted cauliflower and fresh chopped tomatoes and dinner still turned out great. This one goes in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I used frozen spinach and fresh garlic. It was delicious. I will be making this regularly and will experiment with adding other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Excellent. Quick, easy and flavorful. (I skipped the tofu.) My boyfriend from India made the following modifications for more authenticity: After heating oil in pan, add 1/2 t. cumin seeds. Heat for 30 seconds, stirring. Then add 6 curry leaves and 2 t. ginger-garlic paste. Stir for 30 seconds. Then add onion, 1 t. garam masala, 1 t. chili powder and 1 T. curry powder. (no curry paste required) I followed the recipe similary except that I added about 1/2 cup water after putting in the chick peas to create a thinner consistancy. We both loved it served with basmati rice. Next time I may add some chopped tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This was an extremely easy, very tasty dish. I whipped this up in no time after work, and it turned out great. I did bake my tofu first, as some of the other reviewers had reccomended, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for this quick healthy recipe bellacoola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
This was a great way to get some tofu in our diet. I baked the cubed tofu in a 425 degree oven for 20 minutes, as suggested here before. I also added cubed, cooked sweet potatoes. My curry paste was very hot, so I would use less next time, but I did enjoy the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States