Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Very good! Omitted the basil, added some cumin and a few red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was really good. I decided to fry my tofu before I put it in. I cooked the garbanzo beans longer than instructed, and they came out nice and soft. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This was very good. Had it been a little bit *less spicy* it could have been like my favorite Indian restaurant. I added extra gram masla, red cayanne, and cumin. But, it was delicious and very, very easy to put together. I didn't use spinach, tofu or the basil. Didn't have, but I don't think it mattered. I also used fresh crushed garlic instead of the powder. My DH liked also. I might make again, but with so many others to try, I might move on to another. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by huggamom
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
yummy & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I sautéed the onion with 1/2 teaspoon of garam masala and 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, and used a couple cloves of crushed garlic instead of garlic powder.... sauteing that after the onions. Also stir-fried the tofu just a bit before adding to curry. I don't think any of these minor changes make the recipe any better, just more suited to my way of cooking. Loved the recipe, even though we cringed a bit at using creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This recipe was just delicious!! My only change was to the curry paste, as I didnt have any so I used 2tbspns. of Tomato Paste, and 2tbspns. of curry powder... mixed it well and then added per the instructions. I will make this one again and again! Thank so much to the poster!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillianMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I was kind of disappointed. It was OK but I'm not sure if I'll make it again. My biggest complaint...the chick peas were way too crunchy! For the veggies I had 1 boiled sweet potato, 3 boiled red potatoes, chick peas, cauliflower & broccoli frozen vegetables & chopped fresh baby spinach. I also doubled the mild curry paste and it still wasn't spicy enough. OK recipe but needs major modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeongmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Needed a little pick-me-up in the spice department, but other than that, a wonderfully easy curry dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Tastes good, followed the directions in the first review & added chicken and cauliflower as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is a great recipe! I sauteed 1/2t of cumin seeds and 1/2t garam masala with the onions and fresh garlic (instead of garlic powder); think I might saute the tofu also next time to let it get more flavor. I used a bit more than the amount of curry paste listed because my curry paste was labeled "mild." Also used frozen organic spinach instead of fresh since I had it on hand. Served with jasmine rice and cucumber raita and it was great! Incredibly inexpensive to make as well, even with organic ingredients. Thanks bellacoola!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States