Spinach Chickpea Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I've made this dish twice and the first time I used curry powder because I didn't have any paste, but the second time I used Biryani curry paste. The tastes weren't all that different but I get did compliments all around each time. The only things I did different was to crush a little less than half of the garbanzo beans before adding them to the skillet and toss in a some crushed red pepper. I also used only half an onion - a whole one seemed like way too much. I served this with Naan instead of rice. My little brother hates all vegetables and tofu, but this recipe had him singing a different tune!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelicook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jL
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I followed the recipe as is except that I added a diced tomato. Make sure you buy extra firm tofu (the kind for stir frying), otherwise it will fall apart when you are cooking the curry. This curry is delicious! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Great recipe! I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and added 1t. garam marsala, 1t. ginger and 1t. cumin. In the end I had to add more spices even though I don't particularly for hot food! Double your spices is my suggestion, otherwise quick, easy and very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mattie
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
An excellent curry. I added a few mushrooms and 1/2 can of coconut milk to this recipe and it was amazing. I ended up adding just a little extra curry powder as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Very good! Omitted the basil, added some cumin and a few red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This was really good. I decided to fry my tofu before I put it in. I cooked the garbanzo beans longer than instructed, and they came out nice and soft. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENMYTEDDY13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This was very good. Had it been a little bit *less spicy* it could have been like my favorite Indian restaurant. I added extra gram masla, red cayanne, and cumin. But, it was delicious and very, very easy to put together. I didn't use spinach, tofu or the basil. Didn't have, but I don't think it mattered. I also used fresh crushed garlic instead of the powder. My DH liked also. I might make again, but with so many others to try, I might move on to another. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by huggamom
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
yummy & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I sautéed the onion with 1/2 teaspoon of garam masala and 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, and used a couple cloves of crushed garlic instead of garlic powder.... sauteing that after the onions. Also stir-fried the tofu just a bit before adding to curry. I don't think any of these minor changes make the recipe any better, just more suited to my way of cooking. Loved the recipe, even though we cringed a bit at using creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
This recipe was just delicious!! My only change was to the curry paste, as I didnt have any so I used 2tbspns. of Tomato Paste, and 2tbspns. of curry powder... mixed it well and then added per the instructions. I will make this one again and again! Thank so much to the poster!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillianMarie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States