Spinach Chicken Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I love this recipe and I've had rave reviews everytime I make it for company. My changes include using fresh spinach (sauteed first) and at least doubling it, I use half the sauce mixure with no milk, pepper jack cheese instead of mozz, no nutmeg and a little cumin. It turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Well I made it and it was great, would not change a thing, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this recipe tonight for my family. I used the exact measurements and prepared the recipe to the exact instructions. The mixture came out great with nice flavor but honestly there is something missing from the chicken, spinach, and onions. Something to flavor it and make it pop. I will try to add something the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I was quite disappointed with this. For one thing, I followed this recipe exactly except that I halved the recipe (using two chicken breasts), and I ended up not having enough of the filling to sufficiently fill the four 8" tortillas. So I strongly suggest using more chicken and spinach than the recipe calls for (you'll still have enough of the sauce). Also, it really lacked in flavor. I suggest at least doubling the amount of garlic powder. I also think this would be better with sauteed mushrooms added to the mixture. It just needs something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I replaced the nutmeg with cumin and added chili powder. I liked that there was spinach in it, but I used fresh. I cut the spinach into small pieces and added it to the chicken, stirred and removed from heat. I used wheat tortillas. My husband likes my normal enchiladas better. I used skim milk and low fat cheese and sour cream. Too much milk too soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emrald5769

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was EXCELLENT. I cut the nutmeg in half, so it was fairly subtle. I think it would be great with seafood, too: shrimp and scallops maybe? With a touch of white when to deglaze the pan before mixing in the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
The nutmeg overpowered the whole recipe :( next time I will leave the nutmeg out. I did not think this recipe has a mexican taste to it either so I added enchilada sauce over the enchiladas while they baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *perky*clo
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I did mine more 'casserole' style: 2 cans white meat chicken, sauteed fresh spinach & onion, sour cream, milk, 1 can low sodium cream mush soup, garlic blend seasoning, corn tortillas, (layered lasagna-style), then mozzarella blend cheese on top towards the end. A big hit in our house !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *perky*clo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Nothing frustrates me more than when I read reviews and change a recipe, then wish I hadn't messed with it. Reducing the nutmeg (sorry not a fan) and possibly adding the pepper jack cheese are good suggestions, adding extra spices is not. After reading reviews, I was afraid this would be bland so I added extra garlic, a bit of cumin and ground pepper. It was too strong and ended up overpowering the wonderful creaminess of the recipe. Not all recipes need a "kick." I plan on making this again as written minus the nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This was amazing! I did make 2 changes (sorry, I know some people hate it when others do that.) I used 1/2 tsp cumin in place of the nutmeg, and omitted the onions & just stirred a can of mild green chilies into the soup/sour cream mixture. So creamy and yummy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States