Spinach Cheese Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This recipe is ok, but there is another recipe on this site that I prefer. It is called "Spinach Brownies" (strange name but really good recipe!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I love this recipe; just remember to use medium cheddar or it’s too bland... I also make Greek spinach squares by using feta cheese instead of cheddar and adding ½ tsp of dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
These turned out great for my Christmas Eve buffet of finger food. I did add some Tabasco and used less cheese (only because I don't know how to measure a pound of cheese, LOL). Nuke the spinach for a few minutes right in the box, then press it through a colander to drain the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I continue to get raves whenever I bring this dish to a party. As is, the recipe is a little too greasy & fatty for my taste so I followed some of the other readers' adivice and made the following changes: used two eggs melted one T.butter in the baking dish used 2c. cheddar and 1/4c. parmesean Thanks Irene!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Very tasty and easy, thank you! A couple of small things: I skipped the butter entirely, and used Pam. It worked fine and this recipe does not need more oil in it. We served it with jalapeno ranch dressing as a dip, which was great, and I added granulated garlic and tabasco for spice. Next time I will add even more for kick, but it went over well with the modifications noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Recipe very simple to make and delicious! Must wait for the squares to cool completely before cutting or you're in for a huge mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I think this is a winner even though I wasn't particularly impressed with the flavor of them - everyone else was though! I did add some garlic powder (didn't really seem to help with flavor much) and some Frank's Red Hot (I'm going to add more next time to give it a little more zing), and will probably add minced garlic instead of garlic powder next time. I do agree with previous reviewers that it was a tad too greasy, I'd halve the butter next time. All in all a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Very nice flavor & easy to make. I have made these in small batches and large batches (multiplied the recipe by 5 for a wedding reception). Always a favorite whenever I make them-lots of raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
My dh and I found this recipe quite 'blah' although a friend of ours loved it. If I made it again, I might add a can of chopped green chiles to give it some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
Try adding some dijon mustard, goes well with cheese and spinach. Also try using Edam Cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Your guests will love this versatile, cheesy warm dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States