Spinach Cheese Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Cottage cheese just didn't do it. Then I used Ricotta cheese and it made a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rensselaer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I really liked this. I used fresh spinach and put it in with the noodles to wilt right before draining the boiling water. I used freshly grind pepper and some salt. next time I will add some diced up cooked bacon for added flavor. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
I liked this dish A LOT.. The spinach and the cheese together was great! It was a very easy meal to make, took very little time, and the clean up was also very easy.. I used another user's suggestion and went with ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. I put slices of well-seasoned grilled chicken with it, and it was delicious! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I thought that this was a very good quick supper dish but that it could have benefited from a bit more seasoning. I used large curd cottage cheese and heated it slightly with the drained pasta and spinach until it was soft and gooey - almost like biting into a small piece of soft mozzarella - also added freshly ground pepper, salt, and a sprinkling of nutmeg to resemble the taste of spinach lasagna. I took the photo before I remembered to top the pasta with parmesan cheese...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I LOVED this recipe. I made it last week exactly the way the recipe was written. I understand that there are some people who don't like cottage cheese, so they substitute ricotta. I did not because I love cottage cheese. I made no substitutions in this recipe the first time I made it. It was delicious, fast and easy! I am keeping this and will make it again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!! I made this again for dinner tonight. I did do a couple of add-ins. I added one can of chicken (no broth) and some bacon bits. I wanted to up the protein and use it as a main dish not a side dish. I think next time I will also add in some sun-dried tomatoes. I love the way spinach and sun-dried tomatoes taste together. This is an awesome recipe that lends itself to deliciousness with or without extras. Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luvs2cook500

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I wouldnt call this one of my favorite recipes...but it was tasty. Its great because its packed with protein and iron. I recommend putting in a little more garlic than recommended...maybe about 5-6 cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberlee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I loved this very simple recipe! My only modifications are for my own personal tastes; I added a tad more garlic just because, and doubled the spinach because I'm a spinach lover. The cottage cheese adds a lovely touch! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Great recipe. I didn't think that the dish is too bland as others have stated. I used bow-tie pasta instead of the egg noodles and thought it was really good. Obviously, you can doctor the base recipe to your own taste, but I think the base is really good, as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This is an excellent base recipe. I followed other posters' recommendations and used ricotta i/o cottage cheese. I also added onions, mushrooms, bacon bits, basil and an extra garlic clove. (One of my kids can't stand spinach, hence the bacon bits.) A hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was quite a good recipe; quick, easy, and the perfect way to use egg noodles. Tastes good hot and cold. I just wish there was a way to make the spinach stay crisp. I suppose if you don't try to cook it with garlic... I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States