Spinach Cheddar Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by debdoright
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I just made these. I should have read the reviews. I would have added chopped garlic and pepper. Overall, they were good they just need the extra seasoning. I sprinkled the tops with more cheese garlic powder, pepper and Parmesan cheese. The crust was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I used 1 cup of white whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup of all purpose flour, I added 1/8 tsp of nutmeg and 1/8 tsp of dried crushed thyme also to the batter. I tried this recipe but I think it needed garlic butter with dried red pepper flakes, so I melted a 1/2 stick of butter with fresh garlic cloves and some red pepper flakes sprinkled in with a pinch of salt since the muffins needed more salt. I brushed this on top of the baked muffins and they tasted way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Talamantez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I did this recipe yesterday and it turned out delicious! They remind me of pesto muffins. I will definitely remake this, and it was so easy! I did changed though some details according to others' reviews, and I'm sure that these tips improved a lot the recipe. I used fresh spinach that were quickly sauteed before incorporating them. Also I put 8 tbsp of butter instead of 6, added garlic powder and put 1 tsp of baking powder instead of 2. For the baking time, I baked them 15 minutes, and added another 5 minutes, and they were perfect! Not dry at all, super moist. I put them in the freezer later and today they still tasted great and soft after being heated. Only thing that I will do next time is instead of putting 1/2 tsp garlic powder I'll put only 1/8 tsp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
These are wonderful! My very picky 5 year old even wolfed them down!! A great way to make sure the kids get some veggies!! :) Will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Loved it, very Tasty and Moist. 10/10 Few Tips : I added three types of cheeses , and pepper. You can also add left over baked vegetables, like pumpkin, sweet potato into the mixs. Everyone at work and Home Loved it. 10/10 Defiantly make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
WONDERFUL CONCEPT! Had to make changes to make this in our home: 1) Sub'd whole wheat flour for all 1 1/2 C's. Still very light! 2) Used 2 packed cups fresh spinach, cutting spinach into strips using a chef's knife; used so much spinach that the final mixture seemed like a little bit of goo on a lot spinach; so much so that I almost threw it out. Good thing I didn't, as these muffins rose up into beautiful muffins. 3) Added seasonings per others' reviews, & decided to add most of the seasonings which I keep in my bean-seasoning-box: oregano, cumin, red pepper flakes, garlic, chili powder & onion flakes. I eye-balled all of those: the results were great. 4) The one oops: adding just a touch of salt, which I added because of the claim of blandness. I'm one to lean towards using way too much salt due to my thyroid. But these were little bit salty (I was bothered by the salt more than my family!? Go figure!) Not sure if I'll leave out the baking soda or just the extra salt in the future. I might need to play w/that over time. My family won't mind. They love these muffins. 5) Last modifications: I didn't have enough cheddar or any butter, so I used oil and I put in somewhere between 1/4 & 1/3 cup of parmesan. Had a slightly rounded cup of cheese overall in the end. Yum! Gonna figure out that salt thing yet. We usually have an overabundance of spinach at least once each month, which should provide plenty of practice! Yummy practice! Thanks, Breezer! These are fun nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I didn't have an egg, so I substituted 1/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead. I cooked them for 25 minutes which was perfect. My 4 and 2 year old (and myself) loved them. They are a little plain, which is good, because my kids are partial to foods that are a little plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I rated a 3 star only because I made the adjustments mentioned by previous reviewers. I'm certain without them, that the recipe would've been quite bland as others had mentioned. With that said, my family loved the recipe with the extra teaspoons of spices (garlic powder, onion salt, & pepper) added in. My 5 year old asked me if I could make them again after he ate the last one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very nice recipe. I added a bit of crushed garlic, chopped Spanish olives, black pepper and cayenne pepper. The taste was unforgettable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talita

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Aunt Norma's Rhubarb Muffins

Rhubarb, walnuts, and a sweet, crunchy topping make a magical muffin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States