Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
To make this dish actually edible, try cutting the butter out of the recipe. My husband and I ate two bites each, then just about threw up. Thing is, I halved the butter called for and this dish was still swimming when pulled out of the oven. I suggest trying the recipe without the butter (except for the small amount you put on top, just before going into the oven). This will cut down on the amount of fat by a tonne. Toodle-loo. -Tanstar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TANSTAR_THE_ROCKSTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
I made this yesterday as a side dish for Thanksgiving. It was a hit! It was quick and VERY easy to make. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
There was way too much butter! I had to throw it away because no one would eat the greasy mess. My advice is to definitely halve the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
I loved this recipe and so did my son who hates spinach. Very cheesy and rich. Would use more phylo dough next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
This recipe would have been much better without the Feta cheese. It is quite salty. I would add more mozzarella and some mushrooms if I made it again. The hubby liked it, but the other four critics got it a two star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clyo, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
With a few alterations for a low fat recipe, This was a tasty change ordinary casseroles. If you like that spinach/artichoke dip from a "famous" restraunt, you will like this. I only used 1/2 roll of the phylo dough and low fat cheeses. Additionally I only used 2 tablespoons of butter and used cooking spray for the top. My husband used fresh salsa as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This was very good. I looked it up when trying to find something easy to make for a vegetarian dinner guest. I would agree with reducing the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This was an awesome recipe. I will definatley make it again and again. I made it for Christmas dinner and it was gone. Everyone loved it. I didnt look at reviews before making this one and I will try using a little less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
I have made this multipile times and bring it to all group events to I go to. It's a great family dish or potluck dish. It's a wonderful conmination of spinach, cheese, spices and phyllo dough. The end result is a wonderful crowd and taste-bud pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This recipe is great, easy to make and a enjoyable to eat. Here are the changes I made, I cut out the processes cheese food because it's weird, used real garlic and very little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States