Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
very yummy - will definitely make again - could be good for a brunch type of get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
We used this as a side dish and thought it was fabulous! I did add an extra layer of Phyllo in the middle and only 1/2 cup of butter, but otherwise followed the recipe as it's written. The spinach mixture would be great to use with pasta too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
It seemed like it had potential... unfortunatly, I did not read the reviews before I made the recipe and used 1 cup of butter. It was WAY too much! My husband and I could only take about two bites and then we threw the rest away. The spinach and cheese were good, though (and we even used the processed cheese food). So I think we may try it again (in a month or so after our arteries recover from all the butter) with 2tbsp butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
i liked this recipe but i also followed the idea to only use half the butter. i would not use it for a main dish because it is so rich. i also used jack cheese instead of processed cheese food. sounded scary. i would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This recipe is easy and FABULOUS! I cook for groups, and tried this on a group of twenty eight folks. The recipe multiplied nicely, too. I multiplied it to show for feeding 32, and made two large casseroles in my corningware casserole cooking pans. It was all eaten except for two small pieces! The only thing I did different than the original recipe is that I exchanged the process cheese food for the real medium cheddar cheese, per a suggestion from another reader. The feta cheese amount is just right, and the whole thing got rave reviews from everyone who ate it. This is an attractive dish. Also, since I made it the night before our big luncheon, I just want to say it re-heats nicely without too much problem with the philo dough. So when I cooked it, I cooled it down, then covered it with foil then refridgerated it overnight. I took it out of the 'fridge in the morning about two hours before I had to reheat it so it would come to room temperature. I turned the oven onto the same as the cooking temp (425 degrees) though a lower temp could easily be used. I warmed it up for fifteen minutes or so. Advice on reheating: keep an eye on it as it is cooking - the philo dough got a little brown around the edges, but turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This was quite good but I did change it a bit. The recipe is unclear re how much phyllo to use. It says 16 oz but then refers to 5 layers. There are 40 sheets in 16 oz. I used 8 oz (1 roll) with 10 sheets on top and 10 on the bottom. I substituted greek yogurt for the cheese spread, ricotto would work fine too. As suggested, I used fresh garlic (3 cloves) and 1/4 cup butter. With those changes, it got rave reviews from both vegetarians and nonvegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This recipe is great, easy to make and a enjoyable to eat. Here are the changes I made, I cut out the processes cheese food because it's weird, used real garlic and very little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
I have made this multipile times and bring it to all group events to I go to. It's a great family dish or potluck dish. It's a wonderful conmination of spinach, cheese, spices and phyllo dough. The end result is a wonderful crowd and taste-bud pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This was an awesome recipe. I will definatley make it again and again. I made it for Christmas dinner and it was gone. Everyone loved it. I didnt look at reviews before making this one and I will try using a little less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This was very good. I looked it up when trying to find something easy to make for a vegetarian dinner guest. I would agree with reducing the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States