Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
very yummy - will definitely make again - could be good for a brunch type of get together
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
We used this as a side dish and thought it was fabulous! I did add an extra layer of Phyllo in the middle and only 1/2 cup of butter, but otherwise followed the recipe as it's written. The spinach mixture would be great to use with pasta too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
It seemed like it had potential... unfortunatly, I did not read the reviews before I made the recipe and used 1 cup of butter. It was WAY too much! My husband and I could only take about two bites and then we threw the rest away. The spinach and cheese were good, though (and we even used the processed cheese food). So I think we may try it again (in a month or so after our arteries recover from all the butter) with 2tbsp butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
i liked this recipe but i also followed the idea to only use half the butter. i would not use it for a main dish because it is so rich. i also used jack cheese instead of processed cheese food. sounded scary. i would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This recipe is easy and FABULOUS! I cook for groups, and tried this on a group of twenty eight folks. The recipe multiplied nicely, too. I multiplied it to show for feeding 32, and made two large casseroles in my corningware casserole cooking pans. It was all eaten except for two small pieces! The only thing I did different than the original recipe is that I exchanged the process cheese food for the real medium cheddar cheese, per a suggestion from another reader. The feta cheese amount is just right, and the whole thing got rave reviews from everyone who ate it. This is an attractive dish. Also, since I made it the night before our big luncheon, I just want to say it re-heats nicely without too much problem with the philo dough. So when I cooked it, I cooled it down, then covered it with foil then refridgerated it overnight. I took it out of the 'fridge in the morning about two hours before I had to reheat it so it would come to room temperature. I turned the oven onto the same as the cooking temp (425 degrees) though a lower temp could easily be used. I warmed it up for fifteen minutes or so. Advice on reheating: keep an eye on it as it is cooking - the philo dough got a little brown around the edges, but turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This was quite good but I did change it a bit. The recipe is unclear re how much phyllo to use. It says 16 oz but then refers to 5 layers. There are 40 sheets in 16 oz. I used 8 oz (1 roll) with 10 sheets on top and 10 on the bottom. I substituted greek yogurt for the cheese spread, ricotto would work fine too. As suggested, I used fresh garlic (3 cloves) and 1/4 cup butter. With those changes, it got rave reviews from both vegetarians and nonvegetarians.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This recipe is great, easy to make and a enjoyable to eat. Here are the changes I made, I cut out the processes cheese food because it's weird, used real garlic and very little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
I have made this multipile times and bring it to all group events to I go to. It's a great family dish or potluck dish. It's a wonderful conmination of spinach, cheese, spices and phyllo dough. The end result is a wonderful crowd and taste-bud pleaser
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
This was an awesome recipe. I will definatley make it again and again. I made it for Christmas dinner and it was gone. Everyone loved it. I didnt look at reviews before making this one and I will try using a little less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
This was very good. I looked it up when trying to find something easy to make for a vegetarian dinner guest. I would agree with reducing the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States