Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I really didn't like this recipe. Maybe it just needed more cheese. My daughter loves it, however, and wants me to make it again. I am sure she would give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I took other reviewers' advices. I cut the butter in half and sauteed 3 gloves of garlic. I cooked this recipe for group of 10 + people and they loved it. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skippy
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
made it twice very nice except i used swiss (1st time) and brie (2nd time) in place of the fake cheese product it adapts superbly to what ever cheeses you have on hand at the time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I have to say, I wasn't thinking that this would be as good as it was. This was SO good. I used Munster cheese in place of the cheese product. I also sauteed a little bit of fresh garlic and onion with olive oil, mixed that up with the spinach and then added it to the rest of the cheese. I used a LOT of dough. Layers and layers, upon layers. Used NO butter. Lightly coated each layer of dough with egg. Put 5 layers on the bottom, a bunch of the mixture, 5 more layers, some mixture, a few more layers, some mixture, and 5 on top. YUM!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Following other reviewers' suggestions, I omitted the processed cheese and was liberal with the feta. I was a little nervous making this for the first time since I've never worked with phyllo before, but using butter-flavoured cooking spray made it quick and easy. I brought it to a potluck with three different kinds of lasagna and it still stood out, drawing compliments from everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This was perfect for a recent event that I had to bring a side dish. Everyone raved and begged me for the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
We really liked this recipe - great flavor! I did take some advice from a few other posters and omitted the butter all together. I also doctored it a bit - I added shredded rotissery chicken, fresh garlic and gently sauteed onions. I used the feta and a jack cheddar mix of shredded cheese. I used a bag of fresh baby spinach and just aded it to the sauteed onions after they were done along with all the other ingredients. Instead of using butter between the phyllo I used butter flavored pam spray and on top didn't use any butter as well - just sprinkled a little of the shredded cheese and it came out nice and crunchy on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Very good, but needed some extra spices. Easy to make and assemble, just time consuming. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Great recipe. Delete the processed cheese in fact you can combine and add any cheeses that you like in this recipe and will still have a great dish. Suggest spraying a butter flavored cooking spray instead of butter on the phyllo dough. You will not be able to tell the difference and you will save alot of calories! I use this recipe all of the time now and continue to get raves. My family will ask me to bring this dish to all family gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I made a light version of this dish - using light cheese and only 2 tbsp of margarine. The taste was great. I struggled a bit w/ seperating the phyllo dough but turned out nicely. I agree - I'd serve as a side dish in the future - the taste became a bit overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States