Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Loved the layered texture of the dish, but the vinegar was too much, it made the dish taste sour. We will try this recipe again minus the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
It is very good as a side dish but very rich. I added ham cube, mushrooms and a little chili peppers. The recipe could easily be cut in half for 2 people and should be baked in a shallow casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Oh my gosh this was just what i was looking for. I used the butter just to brush on the phyllo. Used feta and mozz cheese and it was perfect. Thank you! Everyone asks me for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My boyfriend and I thought that this was delicious! I added some chicken to the recipe, and used light cream cheese, reduced fat Velveeta, and 2% milk mozzarella cheese. I was a bit unsure of what "layer" of phylo meant (for the bottom of the casserole). So, I put about six sheets on the bottom, added some mix, put another six sheets of phylo, added more mix, and then put the remaining sheets of phylo on top. So good! We felt that the chicken was a nice addition, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Delicious. I skipped the processed cheese, but otherwise followed ingredients exactly. I did several sheets of phyllo, some filling, some more phyllo, then more filling and then topped with phyllo. Next time I will sautee the garlic as other reviewers suggested, but it was quite good with just the garlic powder (and faster that way!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I'm giving 4 stars b/c like others, I made some changes. Here they are: to the spinach/cheese mix add 3 cloves garlic and 1 onion sauteed in olive oil. Skip the processed cheese and do 3 c. mozz instead. Use 1/2 c. butter TOTAL! That includes brushing the melted butter on the layers of phyllo. Hope you like the changes!! We sure did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Very good. I used havarti instead of processed cheese. I also used very little of the butter and opted for the butter spray. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
My family loved this dish! Due to the fact that we could not find phyllo dough in our local supermarket, we used flattened crescent rolls instead. It worked out wonderfully. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Love this recipe. I served along with a shoulder of lamb with a greek flair. My company loved it. However, I did not want to use spinach sine it was in my lamb recipe. So, I substituted chopped broccoli and cauliflower. Just as good. This is definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I ommitted the butter completely and used montery jack instead of mozzarella, and shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese. Also fried a few cloves minced garlic and sm. amount of onion and added to the mixture. Squeeze as much water as possible out of the spinach. I brushed the phyllo with 2 eggs and 2 T. melted butter mixture. Not a drop of grease when it came out of the oven! This was Fabulous and easily the favorite dish amongst our Greek feast! My Dad said it was better than any he had in fine Greek restaurants. Will definitely make this a regular dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States