Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
While this dish was tasty, to call it Spinach Casserole is probably unintentionally misleading. I don't see how anyone could eat this as a meal. It's perfect as an appetizer or to serve as a dish with other choices, but I used it as an addition to a meal. As one of the other reviewers suggested, I used fresh spinach with Havarti cheese and mozzarella. I made this recipe twice, once with garlic and once without because I can't eat garlic. It was great both times. All said, it was very good and I'd used this recipe again only as a side dish, not a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasr24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This was AMAZING. Made a whole 9x13 pan for my poor student self and it was a great dinner on Tuesday and an even better lunch on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday (and a midnight snack somewhere in there too, I think). I made a lot of changes, so I'm only giving the recipe four stars, but this is a great dish to tweak to your own tastes. I omitted the butter completely (although I probably should have actually put some on the phyllo dough... I've never used phyllo before and it turned out kind of weird, and I think that might be why... probably didn't help that I was too hungry to thaw it all the way, um.) as well as the processed cheese. Instead, I threw the rest of my dill goat cheese and some greek yogurt and dill veggie dip that was in my fridge in with the spinach mixture. Turned out completely amazing... will probably find its way into my monthly rotation of week-long meals :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Great base recipe. I made a few additions/changes so that's why I only gave it 4 stars. I added 3 cloves of fresh garlic (instead of garlic powder), 1 small white onion, 3.5 oz of sundried tomatoes, and 8 oz baby bella mushrooms, as well as ricotta cheese to the mix. Instead of the cubed processed cheese, I used a cheddar blend. I didn't use any butter at all, and used some butter-flavored cooking spray on the bottom and top layers, along with some EVOO in between. I will make this again, and might try using the spinach/cheese mixture as a dip. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Glad I took the advice of others and did not use but only 1/4 c of melted butter and next time will not put any on the top part because it just sat there like one big puddle so I ended up dabbing with paper towel and cooked 5 min longer. Really nice recipe, I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
The pack of phyllo I thought I had turned out to be puff pastry so I substituted and used Wanton wrappers instead. I find feta very salt so used cottage cheese and mature cheddar with the mozzarella, it worked out very well. The only butter I added was to moisten the sheets of pastry. I also omitted the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This has become one of my most frequented recipes, with a few major modifications. First, I only use about 1/4 cup of the butter, and you can cut it down further to make this dish a bit healthier. I also cut out the processed cheese food and add in 1 cup of mixed cheddar cheese blend. I also add in some minced garlic in addition to the garlic powder and 1/2 white onion. Delicious, and I use a bit of cooking spray on the top layer only to prevent burning. Works like a charm every time, and I always get recipe requests for this casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Use 3 (10oz) pkgs. of frozen spinach. Replace velveeta with Muenster, layer spinach with phyllo dough several times (kind of like lasagne), use only a few tablespoons of butter to brush the phyllo dough with lightly, chop some 1 onion and 3 cloves garlic to add to the spinach. Omit garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erinmoo526

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Delicious! I used fresh spinach, rinsed them and hand dried. I also, use extra mozzarella and cheddar to compensate for the processed cheese. It was a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was really good, but I am really glad that I halved the amount of better. I used 1/4 cup butter in the spinach mix and only about a tablespoon or 2 on top. On the layers, I used a few sprits of butter spray. I started off using 8 sheets of dough per layer, but then I got worried about started using 4. I wish that I had used the whole package of dough! It looks like too much dough, but it's not! I also used mild cheddar instead of "cheese food" (I don't know what that even is). Good recipe! I'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Loved the layered texture of the dish, but the vinegar was too much, it made the dish taste sour. We will try this recipe again minus the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States