Spinach Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
I really like this recipe. The second time I made it, I added a layer of tomato sauce and sauteed onions, and put sliced tomatoes on top before I baked it. The tomatoes give the dish an added kick that really worked. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I will confess I added to this recipe to help enhance the flavor. I added the following: Garlic powder Thyme Parsley Parmesean cheese Tomato sauce (you can experiment with different flavors too) The additional ingredients really added dimension to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Viking Bunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I knew from the start that this recipe would need some doctoring up, based on other reviews and the list of ingredients. But I don't like to review a recipe and say, "Okay, this recipe is great, but first you have to do this, this and this" and by the end you're nowhere near the original recipe. I also like to make a recipe from start to finish by the letter the first time I try it. Having said that, even with a few changes/additions of spices, this recipe is on the bland side. But that's what I was looking for!! I wanted something I could eat for breakfast that was on the savory side, not spicy, not offensive smelling when it was re-heated. This recipe was great for that. If you're looking for an impressive wowza side-dish, look elsewhere, but for what this is and for a change of routine for breakfast, this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ManxGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I was a little disappointed with this recipe. I normally like the combination of spinach and cottage cheese, but in this dish they didn't blend very well, which gave the spinach a bland flavor. I'd give it another shot, but would add seasoning to the mixture (garlic powder, maybe garlic salt) and double the crumb topping to enhance what's beneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
This recipe was very nice made with fresh spinach. I think I will add a quarter cup of fresh parmesan next time though - it needed a little more zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I agree with other reviewers that this is a great base to add a little to. I added onions, garlic, basil and chicken breast (already cooked) this time, leaving it pretty bland for the little ones and we added more spices at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This is a base that has potential. I used fresh spinach,then added mushrooms, black olives and diced salami. For spices, I added a tsp. of Italian seasoning, a dash of red pepper flakes, and served with shredded Parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Buurma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Pretty tasty. I sauteed the spinach in a little olive oil with minced onion, plus I added a can of tomato sauce at the end. Pretty tasty, I thought. But the kids weren't crazy about it. They ate it b/c they were hungry enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I love the cottage cheese in this recipe, BUT, way too many ingredients need to be added to give the dish enough flavor to be a favorite. i.e. Fresh grated parm cheese. You might as well just add cottage cheese to any of the other really good alfredo recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
This recipe was quick and easy, but was not satisfying. The cottage cheese did not mix well with the spinach at all. very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States