Spinach, Caramelized Onion, and Muenster Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My family loves this recipe. I took this to my husbands family Christmas and it was a big hit. I did leave out the spinach, as I wasn't sure if everyone liked spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ethriel21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These potatoes are outstanding! I followed the recipe as written, and couldn't be more pleased, even the cook times are spot on! The sauce was perfect in 10 minutes, and the bake time is perfect also. I was a bit skeptical when I poured the sauce over the potatoes and spinach because I didn't think it was enough, but I was so wrong, this recipe is perfect as written. Next time I'm going to use Swiss cheese and add some crumbled bacon, now that sounds wonderful as well! I agree with Christina, I believe many types of cheeses could be used in this with great results. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is wonderful: one of the best potato dishes I've ever eaten! Perfect the way it is, don't alter it until you've tried it as written. I made this the first time for my mom's birthday. She said it was 'divine' and that it now replaces her grandmothers Au Gratin Potatoes. Everyone I've made it for since has asked for the recipe. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
this was a fantastic recipe! I tend to alter just a bit. I used russet potatoes, and in the sauce, I used a mixture of sharp cheddar (white) and about l/3 c. of herbed feta cheese. I used muenster for the top. Was fantastic. Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuckboysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Soooo yummy !!!!! I used what I already had on hand: four russet potatoes, frozen spinach (squeeze out the excess water), two onions, three cloves garlic, two cups milk (no cream), extra sharp cheddar cheese (also added white pepper), and topped it with crispy bits of bacon after it came out of the oven. I followed the cooking directions exactly and it came out perfectly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I made this tonight to go with beef tenderloin. Wow, these were really good. My father and husband thought they were great too. I did change a couple things to go with what I had on hand. Yukon golds, frozen chopped spinach and Jarlsberg cheese. For the amount of potatoes I cubed them fairly small and put a generous single layer across the bottom of my 9x 13 dish. Thawed and drained the spinach, pulled out little chunks and placed evenly over the potatoes. When I added the milk and cream I did it in a few batches instead of all at once and had no problem with clumping. Other than as mentioned I followed the directions for cooking and such. Take the time to caramelize the onions, I don't think these would taste nearly as good with just regualr onions. It was a little futzy having to make the cheese sauce but the quality of product makes it so worth it. I think that the next time I will add some cubed ham and make a bit more sauce to make a one dish dinner. My husband said "bacon bacon bacon", that would be good too! I so wish I had taken a picture before it was all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boonie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Hubby said to give this one 6 stars...It was that good! My mom insisted she had a block of muenster cheese, but of course, she didn't, lol, so I ended up using Butter Kase, but I could totally see using pretty much ANY cheese and this turning out fantastic! Instead of using 1 cup milk and 1 cup heavy cream, I just used 2 cups of milk and that worked out perfectly. These were truely delicious and I will be making them again and again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Great recipe! I substituted Fontina cheese for Muenster and increased the garlic to about a Tablespoon, and it was delicious! I think I may throw in some mushrooms next time, but this will definitely be a go-to side dish for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Brought dinner to a friend's house tonight. These potatoes were so delicious. Everyone raved about them. WILL DEFINITELY MAKE AGAIN AND AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is TOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States