Spinach, Caramelized Onion, and Muenster Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LouisvilleHugger
Reviewed: May 24, 2014
How could you NOT love a dish like this? It's so comforting and full of flavor. I definitely recommend you let this one keep you company one night. Caramelized onions win me over every time. And I like the fact this recipe is versatile. I added cubed ham and made this dish the "main" dish. I have made things like this before. I am glad I came across it today. My kids weren't too keen on it but that's only because they could see the spinach, lol. If I make this again I will make a smaller portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Amazing!!! I've made these for guests and they've been blown away. Couldn't find muenster cheese and used jack instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Great dish!!! I added mushrooms too with the potatoes took about 13 minutes longer to bake for potatoes to be cooked through, but very worth the wait!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious comfort food! I used whole milk instead of spending money on heavy cream, and I found it plenty rich enough. I served it with ham. Next time I make this recipe I think I will try it with swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I doubled the recipe (as I always do for my "BIG EATIN" family)! Although my family members(from 8 years to 54 years old) really really liked these potatoes, I only gave it 4*(s) because after tasting the sauce, I had to add a lot more spice and fresh garlic before baking. I think it would have been very bland if I did not add more spice (basil and sea salt for us). Also, I only needed the original amount of butter (3 tablespoons) which worked out perfect! Otherwise, thanks for a great recipe, I don't think I would have ever used "muenster cheese" which I really liked!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this last night. I have to admit right off the bat that I did not have heavy cream but I did have half & half. So I used that mixed with 2% milk. I also had a bag of shredded Muenster & Gruyere cheese mixed from Trader Joe's. For the last topping of cheese, I shredded a block of Muenster cheese. This was creamy and rich but I felt it still lacked something. One onion caramelized is definitely not enough for a 9x13 dish. I caramelized 4 shallots in addition to the one onion and it still could have used more! I see other reviewers added more salt or some nutmeg, it definitely could use some of those things at least. I will definitely try this again with some modifications. Great idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
An outstanding recipe that translates to an amazing dish. I used a food processor for most of the prep work so my potatoes were sliced thick rather than cubed. This would be super yummy with crumbled bacon or another type of meat. This could easily play the lead in any meal instead of just a supporting role.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it! Even some members of my picky family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Delicious! The cooking times were right on. I followed the recipe exactly and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Um, this was ridiculously amazing. Next time I need to add a little more salt but perfect otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States