Spinach, Caramelized Onion, and Muenster Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I made this last night. I have to admit right off the bat that I did not have heavy cream but I did have half & half. So I used that mixed with 2% milk. I also had a bag of shredded Muenster & Gruyere cheese mixed from Trader Joe's. For the last topping of cheese, I shredded a block of Muenster cheese. This was creamy and rich but I felt it still lacked something. One onion caramelized is definitely not enough for a 9x13 dish. I caramelized 4 shallots in addition to the one onion and it still could have used more! I see other reviewers added more salt or some nutmeg, it definitely could use some of those things at least. I will definitely try this again with some modifications. Great idea though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIEQ203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
An outstanding recipe that translates to an amazing dish. I used a food processor for most of the prep work so my potatoes were sliced thick rather than cubed. This would be super yummy with crumbled bacon or another type of meat. This could easily play the lead in any meal instead of just a supporting role.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it! Even some members of my picky family :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Delicious! The cooking times were right on. I followed the recipe exactly and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Um, this was ridiculously amazing. Next time I need to add a little more salt but perfect otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
To much cheese, and not enough flavor. Definitely not making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very delicious! I think it's neat how it has a whole thing of spinach in it...kinda like getting a whole serving of veggies at the same time. Thanks for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was a treat and the only change I made was using leftover baked red potatoes and reducing the bake (grill) time because of that. I put these on the grill over indirect heat while making chicken breast for about 30 min. I would have to lighten this up if I made it very often but glad I tried it as directed. The sauce was a little thick and stayed on top rather than melting down into the taters but that is likely due to the time/moisture change of using leftover potatoes. Regardless, it was good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Absolutely decadent! I wouldn't have thought to put muenster in au gratin potatoes but these were probably some of the best we've ever had!! They were very creamy and had lots of layers of flavors. Definitely not on my diet plan though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Soooooo good. It's very rich so it's not an everyday side dish. It was probably the best dish I made at Christmas. It also reheated very well. I'll be making this every holiday for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States