Spinach Caprese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Nice spin on the traditional "Insalata Caprese". Tomato and basil are a classic combination and when paired with fresh mozzarella you have something so simple and so delicious you could make a meal out of this all by itself! The addition of the spinach is not only delicious, but is good for you too! I like to add a bit of sea salt along with fresh cracked black pepper. I NEVER refridgerate this and if you want to add a little pizzaz add some thin sliced red onion or spinkle with a bit of red pepper flakes- perfect served with Italian bread and a nice wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This salad was delicious. Just as a Caprese salad should be. I have made this a few times and find that using balsamic glaze instead of vinegar will take the bite off the dressing. It is much sweeter so it changes the taste of the salad, but it has a more rounded and mellow flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
good basic recipe to start with. I kicked it up a notch by adding thinly sliced red onion, used cherry tomatoes, some slivered almonds(the kind thats used for salad toppings)and slices of roasted chicken with the spinach. I didn't have mozzarella so used feta. I also added garlic, basil,oregano, salt & pepper and about a ts of sugar to my dressing. It was fantastic. My daughter threw in some honey roasted macadamia nuts in her salad (instead of almonds)and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's for dinner mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This salad is pretty good. I increased the amounts of everything so I could make a large batch & save for other days. Also, I made this into a tossed salad, unlike instructions speciify. Well, I decided to "splurge" and actually buy fresh mozzarella - maybe I'm too cheap. :D And, after having it for the first time in a long time, I actually decided that I like the "cheap" stuff better. The Polly-O brand of mozzarella is the best! It is soft, but has a great flavor. To the salad, I also added some dried basil along with the fresh. I love basil & also thought that it helped disperse flavor evenly. One funny thing is that, due to the balsamic vinegar, the mozzarella looked almost like mushrooms once everything was tossed. :) I added some extra EVOO after deciding that I used too much vinegar. I made this, then refrigerated it overnight and the spinach wilted nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Delicious salad that I eat all the time. It's the exact same one on the South Beach Diet. I think it's best when you use equal amounts of balsamic vinegar and olive oil and sprinkle on a little salt & pepper. Highly recommended if you like spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This was a delicious side to the cedar plank grilled salmon for a truely summer time meal. The only thing I did differently was to sprinkle the spinach layer with a little olive oil, vinegar, and salt and pepper and then repeat after the layer of tomatoes and mozzarella to make sure all received a good splash. Kosher salt and pepper and a brief rest before serving make this dish a beautiful company presentation (the colors of the Italian flag!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I had limited items on hand so I used romaine instead of spinach, dried basil instead of fresh and red wine vinegar instead of balsamic. I just layered everything. I know it would be better with the fresh basil but it was still very good this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I added penne pasta and mixed it all up to make it into more of a salad, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evilboohbah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This salad was very good although I used my own balsamic dressing and we tossed to me more of a salad. I also added bits of bacon and it came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K-Dub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States