Spinach Cantaloupe Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Perfect! The only change I made was to chunk my avocado and cantaloupe instead of slicing it. I thought the dressing might need seasoning, but I was wrong. Perfect as is. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is really delicious. I needed something to use up some of my mint that was taking over the herb box on my window sill and this was just the ticket! You can't have mint without lamb, so just add some nice juicy lamb chops and bread and you've got an awesome gourmet meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Thomas Pagh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was a huge hit at our Fourth of July party. First of all, it is beautiful with the colors and the layered look so it makes an impression before anyone even tastes it. Then the apple/mint jelly takes 'em by surprise and the raving continues. I couldn't find apple mint jelly, so I bought both apple and mint and used 2TBSP of apple and 1TBSP of mint. I mixed the chopped mint in with the dressing too, and applied the dressing just before serving. I also struggled with the avocado at first, not able to get pretty slices. Finally, I sliced it in half long ways, and removed the pit. Then I turned each half open side down, and sliced it like you would a pepperoni. Then the skin peeled off each slice surprisingly easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Fantastic salad. I added very little vegetable oil, which made the dressing slightly more "minty", but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Interesting combination of flavors- refreshing summer-time salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This is an easy, delicious salad! it is light and very refreshing. I took it to a pot luck and had rave reviews. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
loved it! great flavor - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Made this salad with ingredients on hand, which did not include the vinegar, jelly, or peppers. Still tasted great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this recipe in August and it got rave reviews from friends. I tend to be just slightly squeamish when it comes to dressings that are heavy on oil, so I substituted water for some of the oil the second time I made it (as the jelly thickens the mixture anyway), and I much preferred this lighter alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
OUTSTANDING! Out of all the dishes I prepared for Australia Day, everyone said this was the best - and I didn't even use avocado. Mine weren't quite ripe enough and I only had green bell pepper, and used mint sauce in the dressing. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and my kids were fighting over the last pieces of spinach! I have never seen that before. lol. The dressing is the PERFECT compliment to this amazing dish. I plan on making it again tomorrow night as it was that good. Even hubby was nodding with approval and murmuring 'great salad'. I used fresh mint from my potted garden - best salad I have eaten in a while. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States