Spinach Cantaloupe Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This salad is wonderful and a great summer salad while cantaloupe are in full swing. I have made this twice this week. First time I made just like recipe stated except I did not use fresh mint. We loved it. I did mix all together and added the dressing right before serving. The second time I made it for a girls night out and tripled the recipe! IT was a big hit and is diffently a keeper. Everyone is amazed at the mint/apple jelly. It gives it a very nice and different taste.Try it and you'll enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Streetman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was a huge hit at our Fourth of July party. First of all, it is beautiful with the colors and the layered look so it makes an impression before anyone even tastes it. Then the apple/mint jelly takes 'em by surprise and the raving continues. I couldn't find apple mint jelly, so I bought both apple and mint and used 2TBSP of apple and 1TBSP of mint. I mixed the chopped mint in with the dressing too, and applied the dressing just before serving. I also struggled with the avocado at first, not able to get pretty slices. Finally, I sliced it in half long ways, and removed the pit. Then I turned each half open side down, and sliced it like you would a pepperoni. Then the skin peeled off each slice surprisingly easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Salad was very good but not the best. The dressing was voted by my guest to need some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Elegant and different. Omitted the mint leaves and used Polaner mint jelly. I could not find any apple mint jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I prepared the salad ingredients with a balsalmic vinaigrette. The combination of ingredients along with the mint was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I prepared this salad exactly according to the recipe, except I doubled the ingredients. It fed 8 adults one side-dish serving each. I like that the salad is so unique and such a beautiful presentation, but I found the dressing just too weird, even though I'm a very adventurous eater. I made three recipes from this site for a barbeque today and got raves on the other two; not a peep about this one. I might try it again with a dressing of my own choosing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Wow - even my 16 year old brother had seconds and he is a picky eater. I was in such a hurry I forgot the red peppers and it was still amazing! Can't wait to make it the right way!! I followed the reviews and chopped the melon and avocado, but i did have to heat the vinegar and jelly and mint sauce (I found this amazing sauce while shopping for apple mint jelly - it has malt vinegar, white vinegar, sugar and egyptian mint leaves, so i used that and added an extra bit of white wine vinegar); i simmered the full dressing recipe on the stovetop for about 20 minutes on low heat to break down the jelly and bring out the garlic...It was so aromatic and the flavors were amazing. What a fantastic, easy and elegant salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Made this salad with ingredients on hand, which did not include the vinegar, jelly, or peppers. Still tasted great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Perfect! The only change I made was to chunk my avocado and cantaloupe instead of slicing it. I thought the dressing might need seasoning, but I was wrong. Perfect as is. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This is really delicious. I needed something to use up some of my mint that was taking over the herb box on my window sill and this was just the ticket! You can't have mint without lamb, so just add some nice juicy lamb chops and bread and you've got an awesome gourmet meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Thomas Pagh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States