Spinach Cantaloupe Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This salad is wonderful and a great summer salad while cantaloupe are in full swing. I have made this twice this week. First time I made just like recipe stated except I did not use fresh mint. We loved it. I did mix all together and added the dressing right before serving. The second time I made it for a girls night out and tripled the recipe! IT was a big hit and is diffently a keeper. Everyone is amazed at the mint/apple jelly. It gives it a very nice and different taste.Try it and you'll enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA
Living In: Streetman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
Elegant and different. Omitted the mint leaves and used Polaner mint jelly. I could not find any apple mint jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
Salad was very good but not the best. The dressing was voted by my guest to need some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was a huge hit at our Fourth of July party. First of all, it is beautiful with the colors and the layered look so it makes an impression before anyone even tastes it. Then the apple/mint jelly takes 'em by surprise and the raving continues. I couldn't find apple mint jelly, so I bought both apple and mint and used 2TBSP of apple and 1TBSP of mint. I mixed the chopped mint in with the dressing too, and applied the dressing just before serving. I also struggled with the avocado at first, not able to get pretty slices. Finally, I sliced it in half long ways, and removed the pit. Then I turned each half open side down, and sliced it like you would a pepperoni. Then the skin peeled off each slice surprisingly easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
Fantastic salad. I added very little vegetable oil, which made the dressing slightly more "minty", but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was excellent. I omitted avocado, red pepper, and mint jelly (not much in fridge today!) and it was still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Wow! This was fantastic! I wouldn't change a thing. It was quick, easy and very refreshing. An absolute do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
this recipe easy to do and get ready in advance. I the cantalope for mandarin oranges and the garlic for grated ginger. Had wonderful bursting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I changed the dressing to plain yogurt with dill and garlic, salt and pepper. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Interesting combination of flavors- refreshing summer-time salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States