Spinach Cantaloupe Salad with Mint Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I prepared this salad exactly according to the recipe, except I doubled the ingredients. It fed 8 adults one side-dish serving each. I like that the salad is so unique and such a beautiful presentation, but I found the dressing just too weird, even though I'm a very adventurous eater. I made three recipes from this site for a barbeque today and got raves on the other two; not a peep about this one. I might try it again with a dressing of my own choosing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySJ
Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Wow - even my 16 year old brother had seconds and he is a picky eater. I was in such a hurry I forgot the red peppers and it was still amazing! Can't wait to make it the right way!! I followed the reviews and chopped the melon and avocado, but i did have to heat the vinegar and jelly and mint sauce (I found this amazing sauce while shopping for apple mint jelly - it has malt vinegar, white vinegar, sugar and egyptian mint leaves, so i used that and added an extra bit of white wine vinegar); i simmered the full dressing recipe on the stovetop for about 20 minutes on low heat to break down the jelly and bring out the garlic...It was so aromatic and the flavors were amazing. What a fantastic, easy and elegant salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Wow! I would have never thought to put this combination of flavors together, but it worked so well. I made it exactly as written and we loved it. I served shrimp skewers on the side and my husband said he would have liked the shrimp on the salad. I'm not much of a shrimp person, so I was quite happy eating it as it was. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
This was a very good salad. I love the minty flavor. I did make my own mint jelly, because all of the ones in the store were either made with corn syrup or high fructose corn syrup. Not something I wanted in my salad. I mixed the mint jelly with apple butter for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
OUTSTANDING! Out of all the dishes I prepared for Australia Day, everyone said this was the best - and I didn't even use avocado. Mine weren't quite ripe enough and I only had green bell pepper, and used mint sauce in the dressing. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and my kids were fighting over the last pieces of spinach! I have never seen that before. lol. The dressing is the PERFECT compliment to this amazing dish. I plan on making it again tomorrow night as it was that good. Even hubby was nodding with approval and murmuring 'great salad'. I used fresh mint from my potted garden - best salad I have eaten in a while. Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this recipe in August and it got rave reviews from friends. I tend to be just slightly squeamish when it comes to dressings that are heavy on oil, so I substituted water for some of the oil the second time I made it (as the jelly thickens the mixture anyway), and I much preferred this lighter alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Made this salad with ingredients on hand, which did not include the vinegar, jelly, or peppers. Still tasted great, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
loved it! great flavor - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
This is an easy, delicious salad! it is light and very refreshing. I took it to a pot luck and had rave reviews. I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Perfect! The only change I made was to chunk my avocado and cantaloupe instead of slicing it. I thought the dressing might need seasoning, but I was wrong. Perfect as is. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Caprese Salad

This delicious update of the Italian salad adds fresh spinach.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States