Spinach Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
I don't know about anyone else, but this recipe screamed "ADD BACON!" at me. So I did. I cooked and crumbled about 1/2 a pound of bacon and added it along with the spinach and cheese and onion. I cooked the onion first as a personal preference, I don't care for the sharpness of uncooked onion. I think this is amazingly delicious! There was a lot of butter sizzling on the top of the batter and around the edges as it cooked and the top looks a little greasy after it is done, so the butter could probably be reduced. The texture is light, almost quiche-like, but not too eggy. Very hard to describe, it tastes delicious though! Make *SURE* you do not undercook this, if you do it will turn out unappetizingly soggy. Good warm or at room temperature. The recipe doesn't say anything about draining the spinach after it is cooked, but I assumed it should be so I squeezed the cooked spinach till no more liquid ran out (do the same with thawed if you use frozen spinach).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
373 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Edit: I don't know why I ever stinted this recipe that 5th star. I think I use it more often than any recipe I've found on this site. It would get five stars with the following tweaks: Two bags of spinach, cooked in the microwave & drained. Use half the butter. Saute the onion. Add garlic and Italian Seasoning. Use mixed Italian cheese and put parmesan on the top. Bacon was a good addition, but not essential. I think this will be great for potlucks and "grab & go" breakfasts. It was hard to stop eating them! I like the name, because I probably wouldn't have noticed the recipe otherwise, and it's a real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Great appetizer! I took this to a holiday potluck last week and it was a hit, couldn't find any leftovers! I did made the following changes to the original recipe, however, based on previous user reviews and whatever cooking sense I may have! Direction changes: a) I sautéed the one chopped onion (about 8.5 oz) along with some fresh minced garlic in butter, until onion was translucent, before adding to the “brownie batter” b) I used frozen spinach which I just cooked according to the package directions in the microwave (instead of watching a pot and dirtying another pan to prep spinach) c) I added in chopped roasted red peppers for a kick, and to add some red to the green since this was for a holiday gathering Ingredient changes: a) Instead of a half cup of butter, I used 2tbsp in which to sauté the onions and chopped garlic, and an additional 2.5 tbsp of butter when making the batter -- the remaining half tbsp of butter greased the pan b) added 2 tsp fresh minced garlic as mentioned above c) added 1/8 tsp fresh ground black pepper d) replaced 8 oz mozzarella cheese with 4 oz mozzarella cheese plus 4 oz Mexican cheese blend (Monterey jack, QQ, Asadero blend) e) Added roasted red peppers (one, 2.5 oz piece) as mentioned above
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This is really a 4+/5- but I decided to rate it 5 stars because it required alterations. This is very delicious and quick to make. For those looking to cut back on calories and/or fat - there are simple alterations you can make. Reduced the butter to 1/4 cup (used 1 T. to sauté the onion and the remaining 3 T were melted for the 'batter'). As other reviewers have done - I would strongly suggest sautéing the onion, add a little minced garlic - then wilt the spinach with the onion mixture. I used 1 1/2 pounds fresh spinach... I also used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour... this was a great way to incorporate whole grains in the dish. I also suggest adding about 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper and an extra 1/4 tsp salt (or a generous teasponful). I didn't drain the excess liquid from the spinach mixture (the onion and spinach both release liquid, but not a significant amount) - and if you opt to use whole wheat flour - it typically needs a bit more liquid. I only had whole milk on hand, but I believe 1 or 2% would work well too (I wouldn't recommend fat-free milk, but you can give it a try). Baked for about 35-40 minutes. Yieled 20 servings (roughly 2x2 inch squares) Very tasty!!! WW users: 2 points per seving (based on 20 servings) IF: you use 1/4 cup butter, whole milk, and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I've been making this for years & can't believe I'd fogetten to review it. It's always a hit! I do make some changes. I use fresh baby spinach (usually a bag of already washed ready for a salad spinach) chopped in to ribbons, red onion, and feta cheese instead of mozzarrella. I also add italian herbs, garlic, and typically either chopped red peppers, olives, or both. I cut the total amount of butter to about 4 tbs, use 2tbs to saute the onion, red pepper, and/or olive & throw the spinach in with the onion until wilted instead of boiling it. The rest of the butter gets melted & added as directed. I also have used even less butter, and it still comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Loved it! I only had 1/4 c mozza, so added about 1/3c feta, a clove of garlic, and then sprinkled parmasan cheese on top before baking. I also sauted the onion with the spinach. Wow...my 4 year old had 5 of them (he thinks he hates spinach!) Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Add bacon and basically whatever other combination of cheeses, onion, mushrooms, etc. This recipe is easy to adjust/enchance/change/whatever-you want-to call-it to your preference and to what you have on hand. DO cut the butter to a little more than 1/2 what is called for, for less oily results. This was SO tasty and quite the crowd pleaser serving hot and at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
These were really good. I found that I will use less oil and butter next time because they were more dense than expected. They somewhat reminded me of quiche, which is a good thing. They were gobbled up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
Very good flavor-WAY TOO MUCH BUTTER. I added a tablespoon of minced garlic and sauteed the onions. Next time I think that I'll omit the butter completely-enough oil comes from the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
I made a similiar recipe at Christmas this year --the only difference really was that my recipe called for 1/2 pound each of swiss and cheddar cheese instead of the mozzerella...everything else was just about the same. You can serve them warm, cold or room temperature -- they won't stay around for long, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 843) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States