Spinach Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I've made this twice as a dish to pass for appetizer parties. It was a hit both times. The second time I added 1/2 cup of chopped bacon, so I didn't add additional salt and I reduced the butter by half. GET CREATIVE with this recipe...it's very forgiving! I've used Havarti cheese instead of Mozzarella and added minced garlic. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Hmmm, very good! I did tweak it a bit with other reviews. I used less butter, sauted fresh spinach, onions, garlic and mushrooms. I added a hot portugal pepper and red peppers flakes. I only had about 4 oz of mozzarella so I added grated swiss cheese for the rest and topped with Parmesan after cooking. Will be making this one a lot I suspect, easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sc B. McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
We loved this dish, and we can't wait to make it again. We also added a pound of fresh sliced mushroom. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Really good and super easy! Like others, I halved the butter and sautéed onions and garlic first. I also threw in some red pepper flakes. I mixed everything ahead of time and let it sit in a bowl in the fridge until it was time to bake it. Served this as the vegetable with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
humm changed a few things in my version. added finely chopped, cooked apple smoked bacon, never had enough mozzarella, so i used fresh grated Parmesan. was a hit at work potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREAATWOOD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I cooked the onion and added some red bell pepper. Was not as good at room temperature, tastes best hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made it as written and it was a hit as a Thanksgiving appetizer. All of the 9x13 pans were in use, so I put them in a mini muffin tin. Made it even easier to eat (adjusted cooking time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Delicious delicious delicious! The right balance of spinach and cheese. I have made this a few times since finding the recipe and it is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Tried this today . The flavor was good , but must agree that it is too oily for our tastes . Baked for 40 minutes , and the bottom was a bit soggy . We will try it again with less butter .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Fantastic with a few tweaks! I halved the butter, sauteed the onion in a little bacon fat, and substituted feta and gouda for the mozza. Easier and less eggy than quiche- the whole family loved it. I think frozen spinach would be fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States