Spinach Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
These were just ok. I would make them again to eat at home, but I wouldn't bring them to an event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Too much butter floating on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This recipe was a huge hit with my family! I made a few changes, I sauteed the onion and two cloves of garlic before doing anything else, I mixed everything together(i only added about a tablespoon of butter). then took two 5 x 7 baking dishes and filled one with the mixture, then took about 5 pieces of bacon crumbled and added it to the rest of the batter, and filled the second baking dish. (im a vegetarian in a world of omnivores lol. Needless to say the one with bacon lasted about 10 minutes after i cut it. These really are an amazing idea! let alone an awesome recipe! Thank you so much for taking the time to add this to this site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Really, really loved this but took the advice of several reviewers and halved the butter. I also used 2 bags of fresh spinach microwaved in the bag and then added it to the onion mixture. And yes, definitely sauté onions and add seasonings to taste. For me, fresh ground pepper, kosher salt and oregano. Husband loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
It was great out of the oven fresh. I followed some of the review comments. Unfortunately, this did not serve well the second time. It was terrible cold and did not reheat well. I was embarrassed to serve this at the pot luck I went to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Second time I have made this. This time I used the 1/2 cup of butter and it is sinful and delicious. I did not cook the onions and I think it made it moister this time. Only variation was 1 teaspoon of granulated garlic and a sprinkle of freshly grated Parmesan on top. Mozzarella was Italian blend. Did bake it for 50 minutes. I used my stoneware 9x13. First time I made this I used what I had in the house which was feta, added dill, and made it more like crust less spanakopita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
came out really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Didn't change anything; it is really a blank but tasty slate that you can add lots of different flavors to. We used it for snacks and as a platform for poached eggs. The brownies will be on my Super Bowl table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Great recipe used as a side dish. My husband laughed at me when I told him I was making spincah brownies, but guess what he loved it. He just kept raving how good it is and wants me to make it again. The only thing I added was a stalk of celery and I sauted the onions & celery then added the spinach to it after I took it out of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe either as is or used as a jump off for more adventurous fare. I made it the first time exactly as written. Well...one change. I couldn't bring myself to use 1/2 cup of butter so I halved that since I was using a non stick skillet and the baking pan was going to be greased with more butter plus there would be more oil from the baking cheese. Couldn't help trying a small piece shortly after taking it out of the oven. Personally I think I prefer eating it warm but cold was ok too. Next time I make this I'm adding well sauteed mushrooms and crumbled fried smoked bacon to the mix just before baking. I might use a slightly smaller baking dish too so the "brownie" isn't so thin. Thank you for a recipe I'll be playing with for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States