Spinach Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
It is unfair of me to rate the recipe as written because I made a lot of changes and LOVED them. I thawed/drained 10 oz frozen/chopped spinach overnight. Sauteed about 1/3 yellow onion & 1 clove garlic in 1 tbsp butter & about 1 tbsp olive oil (no other butter otherwise). Used only 1/2 cup flour and also 1/2 cup italian bread crumbs. Used about 1 cup six cheese italian blend and about 1/2 cup parmesan. Cooked in muffin tin for about 20 minutes (15 may have been enough). Looking forward to making again :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This smelled and looked amazing coming out of the oven and I let it cool overnight to have in the morning. I added garlic and reduced the butter to 1/4 cup, but these "brownies" really just didn't sit well with me. The texture was almost congealed and in general the flavor was bland. Very disappointed as I was excited to try this recipe :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is a really good, basic recipe that one can improvise and build on. I made a couple of alterations this time around. To cut down on carbs I substituted almond flour for the all purpose flour. As other reviewers suggested I sauteed the onions for a bit with the spinach ahead of time -- also added some mushrooms. For fun I put some of the batter into mini quiche trays and cooked at half time -- yum! Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I cannot really say if this is any good or not, the 13 X 9 pan is not the pan to use. It came out too thin and burnt the bottom and basically could not serve it. I will definitely try again with an 8 X 8 square pan and keep the temp down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LorenWSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
It did need some acid. And definitely more salt. A little nutmeg wouldn't hurt, I don't think. It pairs well with dairy and spinach. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Needs more air during mixing to make them fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
THE BEST!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years and love it. I originally tried it as-is, but found them a little greasy. So like others, I cut the butter in half and double the spinach. It's so good. I also recently started baking them in an 8x8 pan, so they come out thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
These were just ok, lacked flavor. Next time I would add more spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This was a huge hit, but I must admit to one change. I didn't have any mozzarella so I used Parmesan and we LOVED it! It's a new staple in my house. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States