Spinach Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
I loved this recipe because it uses spinach, but tastes like basil. I am too cheap to buy pine nuts so I used walnuts and it's still delicious! I didn't use all the oil because it didn't seem to need it. I also made it with sage and it's delicious too. The basil is better, but it's a good way to use up sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Used almonds and frozen spinach, awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Very delicious! I overdid the garlic the first time and under-did the lemon, but this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
A super easy ,and delicious, pesto! I made one big change though...almonds instead of more expensive pine nuts. It worked splendidly! Freeze in ice cube trays as the author of this recipe suggests. You will use these handy cubes frequently for sauces, pesto mayo and other tasty pesto recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Delicious used with toasted almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Austin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is so good! The lemon zest & juice add a nice freshness to the pesto. I subbed walnuts for the pine nuts. I made this to use as the pesto for AR Tenna's Spicy Pesto Chicken recipe. It looked & smelled so good, I could not wait. I use a piece of french bread to clean out the food processor. This would be great on pizza, as a dip mixed with some goat cheese or ricotta & of course over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Well, this is fantastic. I like that it uses spinach instead of all basil (I don't have to decimate my basil plants to make it). Also, the lemon was genius. We had it on pizza and it was so good! We used almonds (untoasted) and loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Love it. A nice healthy alternative to normal pasta sauces, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Víctor
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
The only thing that needs this review to make it a five star, is that you need (personally) something like yogur to make just, mote of ir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is honestly THE BEST pesto I've ever had! I made it exactly as the recipe is written, and it is absolutely amazing! I have never really liked pesto very much, but now I know that with the right recipe, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States