Spinach Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I don't know what I did wrong with this recipe. I used fresh homegrown basil, toasted the pine nuts and just followed the recipe. Neither my husband nor I cared for it. BTW, I do like pesto.....in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Festie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I didn't have any parm, but it was still amazing without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Really easy, restaurant quality. Never make with pine nuts and it's still to die for. Great on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I've never cared for Pesto but that's because I've never had it home-made. This was delicious and very quick. I will definitely use a garlic press to avoid big chunks that don't process down next time. Will double recipe in the future because this wasn't enough for a full box of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pet Shop Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Don't pass this recipe up! By far the BEST pesto recipe I've tried. You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
We did like this, but found it too salty (which is unusual for us-we're salt lovers). We reversed the amount of basil and spinach because we had loads of basil, but after tasting it with the salt, we kept throwing in more lemon juice and basil and spinach. We didn't add any more cheese because that was also salty. May just be our taste preferences, but next time we will add a tiny bit of salt at a time. We also added a higher ratio of lemon juice to oil-partly because we like lemon and partly to reduce the fat. We also prefer a thicker pesto so did not add all of the liquid. In the end we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Excellent! I added extra lemon juice. Truly one of the best pesto recipes I have found. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
What a brilliant recipe! I didn't think the spinach would enhance the basil, but it really does. Excellent, and no ingredients need to be altered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I just made this. WOW! I never knew pesto was so simple. From here on in, it's the fresh, homemade stuff only. Careful with the lemon juice and garlic, it can really derail the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
best pesto I've tried so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States