Spinach Basil Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This dish is great---both light and satisfying! I did change it up a bit though. After I cooked the oil, garlic, and prosciutto, I threw in the spinach, basil, pine nuts, and some lemon juice (2-3 tbls) and cooked them all together for 5-6 minutes. I know the recipe calls for uncooked spinach and basil. But, I preferred it better cooked. As such, I doubled the amount of spinach I used in the dish as well (6 ounces just wasn't enough). Make sure you don't add any more salt--the prosciutto has plenty!! Great reheated too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewChefMelis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
So Good! I used extra spinach and basil. Very easy and light. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANDY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Very good. Loved it as a main dish. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
WOW!! Awesome flavor! I pretty much made this according to recipe and would rate this more than five stars if I could. Thanks Jennifer! Like you said, "It's delicious!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Really enjoyed this one. The first time I made it I followed the advise of some reviewers and added Italian dressing. I thought the flavor was rather generic so I made it again so I could get taste of it's intended flavor. I MUCH prefer to follow the recipe exactly than to alter the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I did not care for this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBeezKneez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cadwell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I thought this was a great base recipe! The original recipe looks really good but I was on a budget and I didn't have prosciutto, pine nuts, or enough parmesan on hand, so I did make changes. My version came out good, so I figured I would share for those who want a vegetarian option. I didn't have bow tie pasta, so I used Barilla whole grain rotini. I used a 9 ounce package of spinach and I added 2 cloves of garlic. I skipped the prosciutto, salt and pepper, pine nuts, and the parmesan. Instead, I added a can of chickpeas (rinsed), a can of black olives (rinsed), and 1 cup of Athenos tomato basil feta for a salty flavor. I followed the cooking directions and it came out really great. I'm excited to try the original next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
The best tasting pasta salad! I too used bacon rather than Prosciutto and I did end up picking out a lot of the basil and spinach leaves, for some reason it just seemed to much to me. Will definetely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This had great flavor, I made it exactly as written and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chilynnus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This salad was awesome. I made it to bring to a Sunday dinner at my in-laws, and they were all asking me for the recipe. At first when I put it all together, I tasted it and didn't think it was all that special, but after I got there, and stirred in the nuts and the parmesan cheese, and the dressing flavors had had time to blend, it was actually really delicious. I agree with someone else that said it is very expensive to make, so I did substitute the pine nuts for slivered almonds, but even still, everything else added up too. It does make a lot though, and I think you could substitute the priscioutto for a less expensive meat as well, but I wouldn't leave it out completely, it does add some extra flavor and texture to have some kind of meat in there. Overall, we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephieq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States