Spinach Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This turned out great! My son actually ate spinach, thanks to this recipe. Made a couple substitutions...almost halved the cheese(2 1/2 cups) and finely chopped about 1/4 cup of onion and added it last to the mixture. Also added some garlic salt and power because I was out of garlic. As another reviewer shared, I also added a pinch of nutmeg. It was great, will def make again. Maybe add some turkey bacon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
made this twice so far, I use a 16 oz. bag of chopped spinach instead and add extra mushroom. I have made this 2 times now and my husband loves it. I found that the leftovers warm up nicely in the microwave for breakfast. I highly recommend this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Used others reviews to guide me. Didn't use butter, I used EVOO. Sautted the onions and mushrooms together, then added garlic, sautted a bit more. Threw it all together and the kiddos loved it. Didnt want to admit it, but they did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
WOW! This is seriously AMAZING. People now demand that I make it for every potluck I host/attend. I don't have kids, but I absolutely love spinach and cheese, so this recipe is perfect for me. I have made it quite a few times as is, and it's quite good. However, here are my favorite alterations: Lightly sauté onions before baking -- otherwise, they will be a little crunchy and too powerful. I don't like mushrooms, so I leave them out. I use fat free cheese to cut down on the calories (and usually only use about 3 cups). Also, I use half minced garlic, half garlic powder -- to better distribute the garlicky taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I was looking for a way to get my 14 month old to eat vegetables and this did the trick! He LOVED it! Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
These were delicious and oh so easy! I used fresh spinach, added some garlic salt, pepper, and a dash of nutmeg. They were awesome, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
My pickiest veggie eater loved this! I wanted more spinach than everything else, so I cut the recipe to 2/3, but used the full amount of spinach. Baked in an 8x8 dish for a little less than 30 minutes and it came out perfect. My kids (3.5 and 1.5) loved it, so it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Delicious! To make healthier, I used whole wheat flour and cut back the cheddar cheese to 2 cups. I then sprinkled the top with feta and parmessan. Prior to combining, I sauteed the onions, garlic and mushrooms. I also used a 16oz bag of frozen cut leaf spinach. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
A delicious and easy dinner, lunch or breakfast dish. Lots of flavor. Highly recommend this dish. I like how the butter in the pan makes the edges nice and crispy. I'm eating leftovers for lunch right now. I made minor changes. I sauteed the onion, garlic, and mushrooms before adding them to the mix. For those who care about the glycemic index, I also replaced two tablespoons of the floor with Hi-Maize resistant starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I felt this was more like spinach flavored cheese rather than an actual spinach dish, even though I doubled the spinach. I brought it to a pot luck and everyone liked it though, so I am giving it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States