Spinach Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a really good, easy recipe that has a lot less calories than some of the other recipes on this site. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I omitted the salt and only mixed two cups of cheddar cheese with the spinach, then put the other two cups on the top. The casserole has a nice, unique flavor, and you can barely taste the spinach (which is a good thing, in my opinion, since I don't really like spinach). A few more seasonings may make it tastier, but it worked for me as written. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This is very good, but I was disappointed how little spinach there is in it. It ends up being just about a cup of spinach to 4 cups of cheese: and serves 12? That works out to mighty little spinach per serving! It's very tasty, but not quite healthy enough to make it into our regular weekly menus, sorry. I will try it again with doubling the spinach next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARRIDANN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
These were easy and fun. Stayed nicely in the refrigerator for a couple of days too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Very tasty! I added extra garlic (3 cloves total), 1/2 tube of sausage cooked and drained, and only 3 cups of cheese rather than 4. Wow, there is no lack of flavor here! A tad greasy, but expected with the sausage. If making with sausage again I would cut down on the melted butter in the pan by at least 1/2 or try cooking spray. The butter was oozing up over the mixture as I spread it in the pan. I think I'll try swiss and turkey sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
These were really good but I think I prefer the Spinach Brownie recipe over this one. I kind of feel like the majority of this recipe is fattening filler rather than spinach. All of these are rather fattening but the Spinach Brownie recipe calls for 2 frozen boxes of spinach or ten oz of fresh. At least you are getting more of the nurtients I was looking for. Although, when I made the other recipe in the past, I added bacon as one reviewer suggested...making it even more unhealthy! :) That's probably what made it so good. I would probably make these again but I didn't find they had that quiche texture like the other recipe had and that's what I was looking for. These were a little more mushy than the others. Still really good though! Great for breakfast too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Great recipe thanks! I've tried it with all sorts of different cheeses to vary the taste and everyone I've made this for raves and it's so simple which I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
My family loved it. 3 out of 5 tore it up. The other two liked it but I made the mistake of promising hot dogs if they didn't like it. They just wanted to eat hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Perry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Good tasting recipe and easy to make. It's something between a frittata and quiche I'll definately make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I really liked this recipe. Kids would not touch it as it still looked like spinach ... was hoping for them to look more ... bar like. A tad more salt though. I will make this again. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Fantastic! I call this "almost quiche," and my family has had it for breakfast over the last several days. I didn't have cheddar and used swiss instead, and it turned out great. Next time, to make it more "breakfast-y" I think I'll add some cooked sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States