Spinach Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These were good, but I made a lot of changes because they seemed so unhealthy, so my review may not reflect the taste of the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
I used cooked fresh spinach, omitted the mushrooms and only used 2C cheddar. Next time I'll try to add other veges and less butter. Overall, great new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
These were pretty good. Next time I'll use the ideas of the other reviewers and cut down on the butter and cheese (it was plenty cheesy and greasy which I think cut down on the taste). My kids ate a little of these, but not much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These are awesome! Next time I will cut down the flour a little and add a little more egg. They're kind of like spinach-cheese bread--I was thinking more along the lines of a quiche when I made them--but they're GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These were easy and yummy. I made several changes because I needed a less fattening version. I used egg whites instead of whole eggs, low fat milk, only 1 and 1/4 cup of reduced fat cheese and omitted the butter and used Pam instead. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was one of the best spinach dishes I've ever tried! In fact, I'm going to the store to get the stuff to make more. The only thing I "changed" was using seasoned salt instead of regular salt & I added more pepper than called for, but that's just a personal taste. I highly recommend these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
My mom and I took them to a tailgate party and they were a big hit! Came out perfectly, stayed HOT in the car ride over and were gone fast! We will definitely be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Well, personally this one is a five star. But my kids didn't like it. I think it would be better if the onions were caramelized first, but doing it this way made it fast and simple. I will do it again...just when the kids are gone. It's a quick one to do when you don't have a lot on hand and forgot to thaw meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
The key to making this dish firm and done in 30 minutes is to make sure you drain the spinach very well. I defrosted my 16 oz. bag of spinach for 4 minutes in the microwave and then put it in a colonder and pressed with the back of a big spoon until most of the water was out. I also cut the cheese to 2 cups and added 1 cup feta. Delicious! My family all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I've never rated a recipe so poorly. I followed it exactly as-is, and it turned out awfully. It tastes unpleasant, the consistency seems off to me. It's not at all a "bar," you basically need to eat it with a spoon. I doubt it's undercooked, because I cooked it for an additional 20 minutes beyond what the recipe stated. It never burned, but it never got any denser, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States