Spinach Bacon Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I make this all the time and it is wonderful. I find that it makes a little more filling than a deep dish crust can take which is perfect - since I can't eat wheat I fill up two custard dishes and cook small crustless quiches for me! (I bake alongside the regular quiche but remove after 20 minutes). My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This had way too much spinach for my liking. Next time I will halve the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I will use less spinach and less milk next go around, was a little too watery and the consistency could be better, but overall it was good! I left out the bacon, and paprika, and the flavor was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Great base recipe, but I absolutely love it with a few tweaks. I use 6 eggs, 1 cup of half and half, 2 cups of cheddar, half of a red onion (on the smaller side), half of a package of precooked bacon (about 5-6 slices), 1 tsp honey dijon mustard, 1/2 can of chopped spinach (drained very very well), one deep dish frozen pie shell, a few dashes of garlic powder/Italian herbs/rosemary, and a few grinds of fresh cracked pepper. The recipe doubles beautifully when you're shopping for ingredients. I put the pie crust in for 5 minutes (otherwise the crust doesn't seem to fully cook), then smooth out any air bubbles and put 2/3 cups of cheese on the bottom. I put the quiche in with aluminum foil over the top for the first half of the time, then rotate the quiche and remove the foil for the second half. I keep the temperature and time the same, and it turns out beautifully. Even my friend who's a chef said this is one of the best quiches that she's had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I appreciated the suggestion to use fresh spinach instead of frozen! I also used less milk - just one cup - plus about 3 cups of spinach and put them in the blender - easy and really good. The green color makes it interesting-looking as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
The milk does need to be reduced—the amount given would probably be perfect in a 10" pie plate. I used about a cup of ham instead of bacon, so that may have contributed. However, this was amazing!!! Wonderful, wonderful quiche recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Like everyone else, I cut the liquid to 1 cup using 1/2 cup cream and 1/2 cup milk. I did not have spinach, so I used a thawed bag of corn. I only had a little cheddar, so I added Swiss cheese and I substituted smoked paprika for regular paprika. It was great! Obviously this is a versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
followed sugestions and used less milk and more egg. Family loved it added lots of bacon bits and a little garlic powder; also added smoked paperika gave it a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Definitely cut back on the milk. This is my first quiche, so I followed the recipe as is. Can't wait to try it again, but with less milk! Also, I had to use up Rainbow Chard, so substituted that for the spinach, and would use about 6 - 8 oz of greens next time, instead of 10; will definitely pre-bake the pie crust next time. Yummy as is, but improvements will make it amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This is delicious. I don't put the cheese on top as it tends to burn in my oven for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States