Spinach Artichoke Hummus with Roasted Red Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I just finished making this and now it's chilling, but so far, this is wonderful. I cooked my own garbanzos from dried...used about 2 1/2 cups cooked. I am not adding the red peppers because we don't like them. This came together easily, but isn't as garlicky as I expected...that might change after it sits a while. BUT...even so, it's beautiful...such a great green color and creamy and very, very good. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was excellent! I love hummus, DH isn't much of a fan. So after I made it, I put half into a dish for me in the fridge and the other half, I melted 4 oz of cream cheese in for DH. Both versions were great! One was more like traditional hummus (with a twist) and the other was more like a classic artichoke dip. I topped both with chopped pimientos because I was out of roasted reds. Served both with seasoned, toasted Pita bread. Delcious recipe and will definitely be making agin! Thanks CNM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Fantastic! I LOVE hummus and this was my first time making it, I always buy it in the grocery store. This recipe combines all my favorite flavors, and it really is over the top. I followed the recipe as written, except I used a 10oz. package of frozen chopped spinach, squeezed drained, and it worked just fine. I cut a red bell pepper in half and used that as my serving "bowl", and I toasted wheat pita points. My friends LOVED it, and complimented how fresh this tasted compared to store bought hummus, I felt proud :) Thank You CNM Catering for sharing your lovely creation. We plan to make this at least twice a month to use as a dip for fresh veggies as well. This is a winner for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I love hummus and I love spinart dip, but this did not work for me. It didn't taste like either one. :( I'll stick to one or the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This is fabulous and flavorful. However, I used fresh spinach and the hummus is VERY green. We did not mind, would look great on your Christmas Brunch table. The colored picture was deceiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I made this for Recipe Group (a week late) and followed the recipe exactly except for cutting it in half. I will end up eating it, but I still like Athenos brand's Roasted Red Pepper much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Made this for Recipe Group. I ended up using frozen drained spinach. I couldn't for the life of me get the beans to puree without adding liquid before the other stuff. Just pureed it all together adding most of the liquid back in from the beans. It was pretty tasty with nacho chips. If I had used fresh spinach I think I would have just wilted down in the same pan. Thanks CNM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I made this as the Recipe Exchange Group Recipe for the week of August 2nd. I too started with dried beans, so I used liquid from the roasted red peppers to make up the missing. (The liquid from my dried beans didn't look very appetizing.) My husband liked this! I did process the red peppers right into the hummus, because my husband prefers them that way. We've never had artichokes before, so I'm not sure which flavor they were in there, but this was a tasty hummus which I'm sure would be enjoyed by anyone who likes the spinach & artichoke dips sold commercially, because if we liked it, it must be good! I particularly liked the hot sesame seeds as a substitute for expensive tahini; I always have olive oil & sesame seeds, so I think I'll keep that idea for the future! Thanks for the recipe, CNM Catering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Yum this is good! I started with dry garbanzo beans, so I just reserved some of the cooking liquid and being lazy, I wilted my spinach in the pan with the oil and garlic, but those were my only changes. This was eaten so quickly, I wish I had doubled the recipe. Makes a nice change to my usual garlic/lemon hummus. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
WOW, I don't even know what to say...this is absolutely, out of this world FANTASTIC!!!!! I contemplated just making 1/2 a recipe, but I am so glad I decided to just make the whole thing because I think between myself and my son we already ate 1/2 of it, lol. I made this as written, except that I'm lazy, so I just used a box of frozen chopped spinach that I thawed and drained really well (I just threw it all in there). I also added a couple pinches of salt at the end, but that's a personal preference. My mom makes the BEST traditional hummus that I've ever eaten, but this is right up there with that. I will definately be making this VERY often! Thanks, Andy, for sharing such a wonderful recipe~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States