Spinach and Sweet Corn Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
YUM! I decided to try this out for Thanksgiving this year and it was a hit. I enjoy the flavor from the spinach that comes out in this classic potato dish! Also... garlic of course made it even better. The corn added a nice texture that sets this dish aside from your average mash. Photo is garnished with some parsley leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
My husband, who is not a big fan of spinach, really enjoyed these potatoes. That is huge in my book! I try to add spinach to many recipes, and he usually picks it out. My DS always mixes his mashed potatoes and corn together, so this recipe was a hit with him, since I had already taken care of the mixing before putting the serving dish on the table! I made the recipe as written and it was wonderful. Next time to save a few calories I will use skim milk in place of the heavy cream and cut the butter back to ¼ cup. Don’t get me wrong……..these are WONDERFUL as written, but I will ‘lighten’ them a bit the next time. This potato dish was even good warmed up the next day. I served these with ‘Mini Ham Loaves’ from AR and a simple salad. We had a very enjoyable meal – thank you Michele O’Sullivan for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I've made this recipe many times and it's turned out fantastic always. I usually use frozen chopped spinach and frozen corns, reduce the amount of butter and add a little more of olive oil. Sometimes I put this in a oven safe dish, top with mozzarella cheese and bake in the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Thank you for this one!!! Always trying to find new ways to sneak spinach and other vegies into things my kids might eat. I didn't have potatoes so made it with instant. They loved it. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runnergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
very scrumptious! i made it with skim milk and only 1tbsp of butter and it was still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
These were delicious! I made them for Mr. LTH's & my Thanksgiving potato side and we were not disappointed. I followed the recipe fairly closely, though I did use white potatoes and skim milk, rather than heavy cream. I also reduced the butter to about 1/8 C (though, can you imagine how amazing these would be WITH the heavy cream and 1/2C butter?!). I also used about 1/2 bag of spinach because it seemed like a lot. And it was. I'm already looking forward to the leftovers for breakfast....THANKS, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
So good! My husband was skeptical of the spinach but ended up eating two servings and it took me a while to get my daughter to try them and when she did she loved them too! Even my 17 month old ate a huge helping! Thanks for this great recipe and idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Great taste. I did use russet potatos and chop up the spinach before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was delicious and easy to make! The first time I made it was for a family reunion and just about everyone thought it was great! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita C. Landry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Castle, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Loved this variation on mashed potatoes. I did use skim milk instead of heavy cream to cut back on the fat along with fresh corn on the cob.....yummy! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States