Spinach and Strawberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
This is a favorite of mine during the summer and is always a hit at every party I bring it to. I use balsamic instead of white vinegar and have added feta cheese a few times for a twist. My only big suggestion is that this salad wilts VERY fast so do not put the dressing on until you are ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aabergren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
The first time I made this, I followed the instructions exactly except for adding thinly sliced red onion. I give the original review 4 stars. Everyone liked it. I thought the dressing was a bit sweet and I like a bit more of a vinaigrette bite. The next time I made it, the only things I changed were to use apple cider vinegar and olive oil instead of white vinegar and vegetable oil. Kept all other measurements the same - now it is definitely 5 stars!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
Easy, simple, and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I make this regularly, all year long. Great dressing! I usually add sliced almonds and chow mein noodles for crunch. Have even added chicken breast for main dish. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is delicious and simple. I hate when people rate the recipe based on a ton of modifications; however, I did decrease the sugar to 1/4 cup, which seemed just right to me. I can't imagine it with the full amount in the recipe. When I made it a second time, I further decreased the oil by half (calorie-counting) and used olive oil (a "healthy" oil on my Weight Watchers). I also used balsamic vinegar rather than white due to personal preference. In conclusion, I think the recipe is wonderful as it is (with half the sugar), but it's easy to make modifications and still come up with something terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
My husband and I really loved this salad. He is not a huge greens eater, but he did like this one. It was sweet and tart (from the strawberries). I used coconut oil, which solidifies when it touches cold strawberries. I fixed that by letting it get to room temperature, and it was glossy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy B.
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I liked this salad; the dressing was a little sweet for my taste and it got very thick after I refrigerated it. I ended up adding a little bit of Newmann's Own Balsamic Dressing to it, and the combo was terrific. I also added some chopped red onion and feta cheese - they went great with the other flavors and kicked the salad up a notch. It would also be nice with almonds or toasted pecans added. You can really suit this recipe to your own tastes - keep it simple or jazz it up. We'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Did not have sesame seeds. Doubled poppy seeds and substituted about 2 tablespoons of sesame oil in with canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
ok but seemed like it had too much balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States