Spinach and Strawberry Daiquiri Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I made this salad for my friend's 60th birthday party last night. The presentation was lovely and got raves. The taste? Everyone who had some said they liked it. The hostess' husband, LOVED it and finished the bowl at the end of the party! I did a few things differently though. I mixed baby spinach with a spring mix like someone else had suggested. I made the dressing as directed, but it was too oily tasting. I didn't like it at all. So I tossed it and started over. I used Olive Oil instead of Vegetable Oil but only about 1/2 the amount called for. Then I increased the mustard to 1/2 tsp. instead of 1/4 tsp. and I used spicy brown instead of dijon. I added a splash of Apple Cider Vinegar to balance the sweetness of the honey and to bring out the tang of the Lime juice and the mustard. The consistency and flavor were perfect. As some reviews commented on the sweetness of the sugared almonds, I just used about a half tablespoon (I use Xylitol) to sugar glaze and toast them. The salty taste on the almonds was nice. (And to save time I always slice strawberries with my egg-slicer)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Really? I thought this was abit lack luster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Excellent salad I toasted the almonds but left out the sugar and salt. I used olive oil instead of salad oil. my husband, who hates salad asked me to make it again. The second time I added slices of grilled chicken breast and served it as our meal. I'll be making this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlie Russell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
tasty! my husband who doesn't normally like fruit in salads enjoyed this. he also does not like anything with vinegar so this dressing was a good alternative to the typical strawberry salad dressing that has vinegar or is a balsalmic vinaigrette. easy to make and quick to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
LOVED this salad. Thought the dressing was perfect and loved the combination of ingredients! I felt the almonds were a tad too sweet and next time I will either eliminate the sugar coating or reduce it by half. Thank you so much for sharing this great salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
The dressing and strawberries reminded me of a strawberry limeade, very refreshing for summer! I don't like honey, but it blended nicely in the dressing. I only toasted the almonds, I don't think they needed the extra sugar. The salad was also good without the coconut and onion. I added some cotija cheese for a little saltiness, I think feta would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This just didn't do it for me. I love salads but there was no WOW factor with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This gorgeous salad appeared to have promise since I always enjoy a spin-off of the spinach-strawberry combo, but the amount of honey in the dressing made the dressing cloyingly sweet. Adding in the sugared almonds and (sweetened) flaked coconut and this salad became far too saccharine to be relished beyond a few bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This salad was a huge hit at the potluck. I used honey mustard cause I didn't have dijon handy. It turned out great and was gone in a flash! I do agree that the dressing needs just a touch more sweetener even though I love the tart fresh lime flavor. I added scant 1 T of sugar to the dressing and thought it was perfect. I subbed meyer lemon olive oil for the vegetable oil and brown sugar for the white the next time I made the salad and added a little agave sweetener to the dressing - just as fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States