Spinach and Rice (Spanakorizo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
As a Greek-American family, we eat this often, especially during lent and as a main dish. To improve the cooking method given, try this: saute rice along with onion add minced fresh garlic too, then add boiling water, cover and simmer for about 10 minutes, then add spinach and tomato sauce, fresh parsley, fresh dill,salt and pepper. Cooked COVERED on low heat and add fresh lemon juice when it's done cooking. Beside the cooking directions, this recipe is authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeFS
Living In: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
In Greece spanakorizo is a main dish, not a side - all the better to enjoy more of this healthy, delicious dish! fresh dill is essential to the recipe however - so much better than dried. Also, 1tbsp tomato paste is preferred in my family to tomato sauce -- you don't want the dish to be too tomato-y. Otherwise this recipe is spot-on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
This is a really good basic recipe. I normally add some garlic, use chicken broth instead of the water, chopped tomatoes instead of tomato sauce and omit the dill (not to fond of dill). I also add a bit of cumin and cinnamon for flavour. Last time I made it with bulgur instead of rice and it turned out great. Definitely serve with lemon and feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hjørring, Nordjylland, Denmark
Living In: Galway, County Galway, Ireland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Okay---the FLAVOR on this is GREAT, but the cooking directions seem wrongWRONGwrong!!! I cooked this for nearly 40 minutes uncovered and the rice was still crispy and uncooked! I think if you cooked this for 25 minutes COVERED, it would come out perfect! As I said, the FLAVOR is great. Don't leave out the lemon. I used parm instead of feta. I will definitely make this again---with the LID ON... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Being Greek, I have cooked many Greek dishes & pastrys. This is a wonderful dish. I took the advise of the other reviewers and increased the water (to 3 cups) and added 3/4 cup of rice instead of 1/2. I had to increase the cooking time to 50 minutes (along with adding 1/4 cup of water twice in 10 minute increments for the last 20 minutes of simmer time)in order to get the rice cooked but it was well worth it! A nice side dish with chicken. Topped with feta and lemon juice totally make this dish outstanding! Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is a very tasty recipe and makes an excellent side dish for Greek Chicken or any grilled shrimp. However after making it several times there are a couple of things that should be mentioned. First, if you use 2 pounds of fresh spinach, you need a BIG pot to cook the spinach down in. Once the spinach wilts it will be one tenth of the volume it started at. But it takes a big pot told hold the fresh spinach for the first minute. Of course using thawed frozen spinach solved this problem. Second, I know of no rice dish that is cooked uncovered. I cover mine and cook it for 20 minutes and then for 5 minutes more uncovered until it is thick and creamy. Third, I like to add the rice when I add the spinach. Allows the rice to soak up some of the flavor of the oil and onion. Fourth, I sometimes add a couple of cloves of minced garlic during the last minute of cooking the onion. I depends on what I am serving the dish with and if I want the hint of garlic or not. Fifth, once the dish is done add 1 table spoon of lemon juice to the pot and stir it in. This is absolutely mandatory. Lastly, once you have plated up the dish, sprinkle a tablespoon of feta cheese on top of each serving. The salty, creamy kick the feta adds makes the dish seem complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
holy spinach leaves, Popeye! This is a super good way to increase your spinach intake and it actually tastes yummy. It was easy to make too - I had prewashed spinach that I needed to get rid of and the prep time was pretty quick. Next time I am going to cut the olive oil to 1/4 cup, but the feta cheese is a must-have! They make reduced fat feta cheese and you can hardly tell the difference. OPA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Lemon and feta a must - dont rate it until you've done it right.. Not a huge spinach fan so we only added defrosed 10 oz the first time and 20 oz of packaged Frozen Spinach the second. I liked best with the 10 oz. We've also tried vegtable & beef broth to substitute water and diced tomatoes instead of sauce - a little garlic on occasion. We make a double batch at least once a month. DELICIOUS - the only way I can get greens into my hubby willingly. My Toddlers LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
This was absolutely excellent. It tastes very authentic. I used two 10 oz packages of chopped frozen spinach, fresh snipped dill, and instead of 2 cups water I used one cup chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This is a favorite of ours! We make it a lot during lent, but still use it throughout the year. She's right feta and lemon are great on this, but grated parmesan is good in a pinch too!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States