Spinach and Rice (Spanakorizo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is a nice recipe. I reduce the amount of olive oil, add garlic and use oregano instead of parsley. A must is covering the pot, while it is simmering. Adding lentils makes this into a nice main dish. Don't forget the feta and lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This is a very tasty recipe and makes an excellent side dish for Greek Chicken or any grilled shrimp. However after making it several times there are a couple of things that should be mentioned. First, if you use 2 pounds of fresh spinach, you need a BIG pot to cook the spinach down in. Once the spinach wilts it will be one tenth of the volume it started at. But it takes a big pot told hold the fresh spinach for the first minute. Of course using thawed frozen spinach solved this problem. Second, I know of no rice dish that is cooked uncovered. I cover mine and cook it for 20 minutes and then for 5 minutes more uncovered until it is thick and creamy. Third, I like to add the rice when I add the spinach. Allows the rice to soak up some of the flavor of the oil and onion. Fourth, I sometimes add a couple of cloves of minced garlic during the last minute of cooking the onion. I depends on what I am serving the dish with and if I want the hint of garlic or not. Fifth, once the dish is done add 1 table spoon of lemon juice to the pot and stir it in. This is absolutely mandatory. Lastly, once you have plated up the dish, sprinkle a tablespoon of feta cheese on top of each serving. The salty, creamy kick the feta adds makes the dish seem complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Excellent and something different. I didn't have any Feta cheese, substituted shredded Mozarella, and it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was an interesting dish. I haven't had much Greek food. I'm undecided about whether or not I'd make this again- there was a strange bite to it that I wasn't in love with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I added the lemon pepper,fresh lemon juice and feta. It was so good. I kept wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I made a couple of modifications to this dish, and it came out fantastic! I used brown rice instead of white, and since it seemed like many reviewers didn't agree with the cooking method, I made my own. I pre-cooked my rice (about 20-30 minutes for brown rice) and then dumped it into the pan in which I had sauteed the garlic and fresh spinach. I added a little sun-dried tomato and grape tomatoes that I crushed and chopped instead of tomato sauce. I added a little salt, dill, lemon zest and juice, and crumbled feta, and let it simmer just a minute or two until some of the liquid evaporated off the rice and tomatoes. I couldn't believe how yummy this came out, and I will definitely make it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
this was pretty awesome. and i didn't have feta OR spinach! I used peas instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hunter, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
We really enjoyed this! Topped with feta and fresh diced tomatoes. Also cut lemon wedges to be squeezed on individual servings once they were dished out. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This was by-far the best mediteranean rice I have made! This was absolutely delicious! It was just like the rice you eat at a Greek restaurant...I paired this recipe with others from this site: Easy Greek Yogurt Cucumber Sauce and Mediterranean Chicken...I couldnt have asked for a better dinner...everyone loved it! Thank you so much for such a delicious recipe! =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States