Spinach and Rice (Spanakorizo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I loved; husband disliked dill weed. I used canned petite diced tomatoes...and topped with feta cheese which made all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Subbed 2 T tomato paste for tomato sauce, chix stock for water, and added some Greek seasoning. Love this kind of meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except I used 2 tbs tomato paste instead of tomato sauce. The dill taste was too strong almost overpowering and there was way too much olive oil. I served this with seared salmon. Feta and lemon are a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Great side dish to chicken or pork. We absolutely love this dish. My husband is Greek, and had something similar growing up. I only use one medium sized onion and no feta. We love it as a leftover as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I love this recipe. I've made it several times, making it slightly different, as I use a rice cooker to cook my rice first, but keeping true to all the ingredients. For my family, adding the feta cheese and a good squeeze of lemon over the rice is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This was delicious. I didn't use nearly as much spinach though. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was a very similar recipe I've tried years ago. I would recommend using stewed Italian style tomatoes instead of the regular and like the other reviewers, use chicken broth instead of the water. Very simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I made this according to the most helpful suggestion of ReneeFS. I added a pinch of cinnamon and cumin which gave the dish that warm Greek flavor. (This might have been a little too tomato-ey, though.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: China Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
The ingredients are spot on for a superb rice dish, but the cooking instructions seem ... off. Take the advice of the Most Helpful reviewer (ReneeFS) and you won't be left with overcooked spinach and crunchy rice after 20 minutes. And thanks to submitter Kathy W. for recommending the feta and squeeze of fresh lemon -- it really makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I would give this 10 stars! One of my new favorite foods. After just one bite my (meat-and-potatoes) husband begged me to make this weekly! The lemon and feta on top totally makes the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemmindrop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States