Spinach and Rice (Spanakorizo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Although this dish didn't look particularly appetizing, it tasted amazing! My husband declared that he loves spinach cooked this way- I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Reminded me a little bit of stuffed grape leaves--Killer!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
My husband and I didn't care for this. I followed the recipe and it came out mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Great recipe! Okay...now I did change things up, but with a truly great recipe, that's allowable. =) I used Okinawa Spinach that I have growing in mass in my garden, 1/4 c olive oil, 1 onion, diced tomatoes with chilies (added a great kick!), 1-1/2 c rice, 3 c hot water, and after it cooked, I added 1/2 c grated parmesan, 1 tsp dillweed, and 1 tsp seasoning salt. Sprinkled parmesan on top. Really wish I had feta or a lemon! Wonderful! (And a new recipe for that Okinawa spinach. LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was very good once I made several changes and additions to the original recipe. I used 1/4 cup olive oil and 3/4 cup basmati rice instead, and 20 oz. of frozen spinach. I added two minced cloves of garlic, and used one tblspn. each of fresh dill and parsley instead of the dried stuff. At the end and prior to serving, I added the juice of two lemons, plus 1/8 tsp. each of cinnamon and cumin, plus about a tbspn. of crushed red pepper--otherwise it would have been too bland for my taste. I cooked the whole thing in my dutch oven, and it took double the time as mentioned in the recipe to provide the well-cooked and creamy consistency I was seeking. I served this with crumbled feta cheese, cut up black olives and fresh lemon pieces for squeezing. My husband rated it 4 1/2 stars: he was pleased. Next time I may substitute basil and cilantro for the dill weed and parsley, and use canned diced tomatoes in their liquid instead of sauce. I may also top with toasted pine nuts. I gave this recipe 4 stars because the basic recipe was good for starters but would have been rather bland had I stuck to the recommended ingredients. I'd also like to add that it does NOT take five mins. prep time: if you have fresh spinach you need to cut it up, if you use frozen you should thaw it. Plus if you use fresh ingredients (dill, parsley) those also takes some time chopping. Next time I will used canned diced tomatoes in their juice, and basil and cilantro instead of dill and parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very sorry, but I believe this recipe is overrated. It was very bland. It would have needed a lot of feta & lemon for it to taste better. Also took way to long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Addie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Fabulous. I made this recipe exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Delicious, just the side I was looking for to go with my souvalki recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosenhayn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I loved; husband disliked dill weed. I used canned petite diced tomatoes...and topped with feta cheese which made all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States