Spinach and Rice (Spanakorizo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I loved this and gave it 5 stars despite the tweaking I think this recipe called for. I too sautéed the dry rice with the onion and garlic (I added). I used chicken broth leftover in the fridge and cut back a bit on the spinach although a bit more or less would make no difference. Highly recommend using more rice as it was apparent that even by doubling it the end result was 'soupy' and I could have used more yet. I squeezed half a fresh lemon into it in the end and crumbled some Feta AFTER removing it from the heat. So, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
The mingling of flavors was delish. I used vegetable broth in lieu of water and included a crushed clove of garlic to the onion saute. Rather than tomato sauce, I used a can of diced tomato. The fresh lemon squeezed at the end with feta was yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
The only thing I liked about this was the consistency of this. This did not appeal to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I loved the flavors. I just could not prepare it as written. I started out following the recipe to the T, just because I don't think it is fair to rate the recipe without giving it your all. Anyway, fresh spinach lets out a great deal of water, so with just the !/2 of a cup of rice, it was very soupy. I had to look at the photos to realize something was way off. I wound up adding an extra cup of rice to the recipe as it is now written...then, it was fine. I think you just need to consider the liquid content against the amount of rice to make it work. I would make it again in a heartbeat though...healthy and yummy! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I loved this. The only thing I would do differently next time would be to add a little garlic with the onion. This makes a great, rich, saucy rice side. I did not have the same problems others did with the cooking instructions. At first, I thought there was no way the rice would soak up that much water and sauce and it seemed strange to cook it without covering the pan. I ended up cooking it a little longer than indicated (just because the rest of the meal was not ready yet) but the came out perfectly cooked and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made this with the Greek Style Chicken. It is really good but I did not use tomato sauce - just diced tomatoes. Also I made it with one cup of rice. It was a great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is so good - but I definitely agree with the other reviewers: the rice will NOT cook unless you cover the pot. The two pounds of spinach seems like a lot but ends up being perfect. I used fresh dill and skipped the parsley; instead of tomato sauce, I used some pureed tomatoes, around a half a cup, and added some tomato paste. (It seems to me that the tomato aspect of this dish is pretty forgiving.) We were amazed at how good it is for something so simple! This and a loaf of good bread was dinner. Definitely don't skip the feta and lemon. Four stars because of the cooking method listed here; the taste is 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Several comments mention lemon, but lemon is not in the recipe -- how much to use? (I'm sure it tastes good with the spinach.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunniedm
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I prepared this last night and served with fried pork shops and a salad. My husband said it was a very delicious meal. I made the changes I read from some Greek reviewers. I used only 2T oil and sauted the rice, onion and garlic first. Then I added the boiling 3 cups of chicken broth. I covered and simmered for the 10 minutes. Then I added 2 pkgs (10 oz) of frozen spinach, thawed and drained, 4T of tomato paste, parsley & dill. I had to use dried as no fresh in the house. Cook COVERED for 20-25 minutes with a little feta thrown in the last few minutes. I didn't add the lemon but will next time. It was NOT mushy. The texture was great. We enjoyed the dish and will make again. Another reviewer suggests this would be good as filling for stuffed peppers or tomatoes. I think it would definitely be good and will try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunniedm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I added scallions & used frozen spinach. Very tasty dish! This is a staple in our household, not just a side dish. Sprinkle it with some great high quality feta to finish. As another reviewer mentioned, the cooking method could have been better & made this 5 stars. Saute' your rice with the onions & then add the tomato sauce, hot broth/water, spinach & other ingredients. Remember to rinse your dry rice to get rid of some of that extra starch too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States