Spinach and Rice (Spanakorizo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Really good recipe that is easy to make, tastes good, and is healthy too. I used much less olive oil, basil instead of dill, and a can of diced tomatoes with the juice instead of the tomato sauce. This was a great vegetarian main course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Wow did this go over well. I cooked it as part of our weekly family dinner with my wife's grandfather and great aunt. Tonight it was Greek-themed, and this dish stole the show. We followed a couple of the recommendations, namely to use stock instead of water, add the rice with the onions, and add some chopped garlic to the mix as well. Topped off with lemon and feta, it was superb! Can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
It was pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChickenWing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
My family just did not care for this dish. There were complaints of it being greasy and having too much spinach and onion and not enough dill. I do like the idea of rice, lemon and dill together though so this may be a recipe that I will experiment with. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is a delicious recipe. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's definitely best served with feta and lemon, so don't forget those. (If you don't use them, you'll need to add more salt.) I followed the advice of one reviewer to simmer covered instead of uncovered after adding the rice, but the rice couldn't absorb that much liquid. I recommend following the recipe on that count and just simmering uncovered. You can always add more water if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Very good. I added garlic to the dish and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Every Greek family I know has their own way of making certain dishes..... I grew up loving my moms version of Spanakorizo and now I make it my own, instead of chopping the onions, I grate them, NO tomatoes or tomatoe paste, NO dill or any herbs added just simple salt and pepper and when the dish is complete and ready to serve I squeeze lotsa lemon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuMmY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This is so good! I made it exactly as written and it came out great! I did have to cook it a little longer fo the rice to be fully cooked (used Abrorio rice), more like 30 minutes, but it was well worth the wait. Made it with ARs Marinated Greek Chicken Kabobs and it was a FANTASTIC dinner! BF LOVED it! Will definately make this one again, and often. I know Greek's use this as a main dish, and I'll do that sometime too since it's so hearty and yummy. THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Delish! This rice was excellent! Took the tip and added feta and lemon. Awesome! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This was really,really good! I can't think of any way to improve it except next time I might try it with brown rice,diced tomatoes and chopped up spinach. But a good,different way to eat spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States