Spinach and Rice (Spanakorizo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Very good flavour! Definitely add the lemon and feta...also added some freshly ground nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneyC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
This is fabulous! Thank you. I also sauteed the rice with onion and garlic, then followed directions as stated. Awesome!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Brown-Bergmann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
A standby for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I used brown rice and substituted the dill weed for oregano because i didn't have the dill. I also used fresh parsley instead of dried. It was pretty good, but I will use less tomato sauce next time. I also added a clove of garlic as it seemed it would lack flavour otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This seems to be the closest I have found online to direct people I meet at work or gatherings. I always tell them to keep the lid on when simmering, check frequently so the rice doesn't "DRINK" all the liquid in the pan. Also, my Mother used one heaping tablespoon of tomato paste and worked it in to the dish very carefully. This IS a main dish. Often eaten in the summer when the vegetables and herbs are fresh in the garden. Different regions in Greece and individual families have given it their own twist. This was usually served with pan fried fish, home baked bread, cheese and olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This came out really soupy. Next time I will either add more rice or use less water. But the taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maribel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westmont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I was totaly surprised by this recipe. It is fantastic! I used frozen spinach and a little more rice than called for. I didnt want to open a whole can of tomato sauce so I used some leftover pizza sauce.(good move) I did add garlic too, The lemon and feta send it over the top. I cooked it covered ,I like my rice soft. Served it with lamb chops and asparagus. Tonight I'm using the leftover rice to stuff peppers and top with more feta and sauce. Serving with greek salad. Thank you for the recipe Kathy W.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Bailey, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
It was good twist for a rice dish but def. way to much spinach for my taste. I always adding can of stewed tomatoes vs. tomato sauce. I couldn't image it without the texture of the tomato. I also did a 1 1/2 cup rice bc after adding all of the ingredients i noticed the liquid to rice was not going to pan out with just 1/2 cup. All in all i thought it was a success due to my changes! My husband ate his whole serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Instead of 3 lbs of spinach, we used 1/2 lb. stemmed and chopped. 1 cup of rice, and an extra can of tomato sauce. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessNeo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is the basic Greek version, but since my daughter became a vegetarian, I have found ways to improved dishes like this family favorite. To this I delete tomato sauce, substitute stewed tomatoes and a can of garbanzo. That way with a chunk of garlic bread you have protein and a great healthy meal with your salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States