Spinach and Pasta Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I tried this tonite and it was very good.I used 12 oz.of pasta and also used 10oz. of fresh spinach,rough chopped ,which I added to pasta the last 2 min. of cooking.I sauted some slivered lean pork,with the oil & garlic.I also added grated parmesan to finished dish.Chicken or smoked sausage would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made this one with whole wheat pasta and it tasted great. I cut the amount of pasta in half and used 9 oz of fresh spinach. I didn't boil my spinach; instead I sauteed it with the garlic and red pepper flakes. The only other change I made is adding freshly grated parmesan cheese on top. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I rated this recipe a 5 for it's ease in preparation and fabulous flavor. I made some mild variations. I used whole wheat penne pasta instead of the shells. I also added 1 (14.5 oz) can of diced tomatoes when I added the cooked pasta and spinach to the skillet. Thanks for the great and simple recipe Yakuta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Pretty good but needs additions.. good starting recipe. I used rotini instead of shells and added to the garlic mixture: onion, green pepper, diced tomatoes, black olives, & fresh basil. I also added Parmesan to the finished product... very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This recipe was very easy to make. I used 3/4 bag of fresh spinach instead of the frozen kind and found out that I should have used the whole bag. I added some Italian sausage, tbsp butter, and a few shakes of grated parmesan cheese to it. It looks like it will taste bland but it wasn't bad. My husband liked it and he's a pretty picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Quite easy to make, loved the roasted garlic! I think next time I will try using a different type of noodle, the spinach tended to clump into the shell pasta. I added some parm for more flavor---tastes even better a few days after! Edited to add: Just made this again and the red pepper flakes really add great (and neccesary) flavor, as well as crumbled feta. So easy and cheap to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I was cruising the site today trying to find recipes for my daughter. This was perfect with the exception of the red pepper flakes and the type of pasta. I used pastina and even had some myself. So good with a splash on parm on top. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
this was good even my five year old ate it.I did add a can of crushed tomatoes , onions and some italian sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaLizGa
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
A solid four star - good hearty dinner. I added a can of fire roasted diced tomatoes, added mushrooms, sauteed an onion along with the garlic and used chili powder instead of pepper flakes. I warned my boyfriend about the spice factor - he laughed in my face and jacked up his plate with red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great basic recipe. I definitely added parmesan to finish it off and it was great. Next time I'm going to try to add more veggies like asparagus and mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Modern Pasta e Fagioli

See how to put a tasty Tennessee twist on Pasta e Fagioli.

One Pan Orecchiette Pasta

See how to make a quick Italian pasta with Italian sausage and arugula.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States